LibGuides: BUAD 113 Canadian Business: Finding Articles

Tips for searching library databases

search for individual words or short phrases, not full sentences
think of synonyms and related words: smartphone could be "mobile device", iphone, cellular, etc....
quotations marks: search for phrases: "mobile phone", "apple inc." etc.
asterisk: * variations of a word: brand* will bring back brand, brands, branding

Key Business Article & Reports Databases

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Collection of industry research reports and related information. Includes Canadian industry reports (NAICS) and industry iExpert summaries. Includes US industry reports (NAICS), industry iExpert summaries, specialised industry reports, and specialized industry iExpert summaries.

ABI/Inform
Comprehensive business database. Coverage: International focus; articles from newspapers, magazines, trade publications and scholarly journals. Value: International/ multinational information. Contains reports on International business conditions from the Economics Intelligence Unit and Oxford.
More about this database...less...
TIP: Search for a company featured prominently in an article by combining the company name with 'Company/Org' from the drop-down menu.
Business Source Complete
Covers all areas of business, including accounting, economics, finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business. Includes company and industry profiles. Includes MarketLine industry/market research reports.
More about this database...less...
Search tips: Limit search to "Industry Profile" or browse "Industry Profile" category. SWOT analyses: Combine 'SWOT' with company name (e.g. NIKE and SWOT)
CBCA
A comprehensive database bringing in full text content from Reference, Current Events and Business subject areas. Canadian focus. Subjects covered are: current events, business, science, the arts, and Canadian academic information.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism sectors.
Business Market Research Collection
Provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from three sources: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots Series.
More about this database...less...
Hoover's Company Profiles: offers information on 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, summary financials, competitors, officers, and more.
OxResearch: features succinct articles covering significant economic and political developments of major significance from a network of over 1,000 faculty at Oxford and beyond.
Snapshots Series: includes market research overviews on over 40 industries and 40 countries to 2008.
View all Business article and report databases