Health dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks may be a useful starting point for finding information. Reference sources are trustworthy sources of factual information. These resources provide basic information, overviews, and introduce / define specialized terminology. Some examples reference sources containing dentistry and anatomy information are available below.
A dictionary of dentistry
This dictionary covers thousands of important terms and concepts used in dentistry today. Entries are written in clear and concise English without the use of unnecessary dental or medical jargon, and many entries are supplemented by detailed line drawings or colour photographs.
The encyclopedia of dental and oral health
The Encyclopedia of Dental and Oral Health is a new, comprehensive A-to-Z reference to this topic, covering proper dental care, dental practices and procedures, infectious diseases and related diseases, anatomy of the teeth and mouth, the causes of tooth decay, and much more. Topics include: Cosmetic dentistry Dental adhesive Dental emergencies Fillings Gender and oral health Mouthwash Oral cancer Oral surgery Orthodontics Pediatric dentistry Pregnancy and dental health Root canal treatment.
ADA Dental Drug Handbook by
Dentists face many considerations when treating patients and prescribing medication. This ADA quick reference, created by a team of dentists, pharmacists, scientists, and experts in pharmacology, serves as a clinical educational resource to deliver concise and accurate information about prescribed medications used in dentistry. The second edition of the ADA Dental Drug Handbook has been revised to include the latest, most up-to-date information to assist in treating patients. This handbook presents information on commonly encountered drugs in the dental office in an easy-to-follow format, making it a go-to drug reference for dental professionals.Topics include: Drugs used in dentistry, such as analgesics, antifungals, antivirals, anxiolytics, fluorides, local anesthetics and corticosteroids; Detailed, full-color drug monographs with black box warnings, cautions and contraindications, potential adverse reactions, possible drug interactions and more; Sample prescriptions with dosage, frequency and route of admnistration; Smoking cessation, salivary management and oral lesion treatment; OTC products with the ADA Seal of Acceptance;ADA resources on procedures such as general anesthesia, antibiotic prophylaxis and medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw. Useful tables presenting adverse drug reactions, drug-drug interactions and generic brands; Drug management for pediatrics, emergency situations, and special care conditions such as hypertension, pregnancy and substance abuse disorder.
Critical Thinking: Understanding and Evaluating Dental Research, Third Edition
The Internet has given us access to an unprecedented amount of information, but this development also facilitates the spread of misinformation if we do not think critically and evaluate what we read. The third edition of this classic textbook has been revised based on developments in biomedical research practices over the past decade to provide readers with the most up-to-date resource for navigating the ever-expanding world of dental literature. The book covers rhetoric and logic, the scientific method, components of scientific papers, research strategies, probability and statistics, diagnostic tools and testing, and experiment design. The chapter about searching the dental literature has been updated with the most current resources and search techniques available. A new chapter about clinical decision making uses a decision tree analysis with worked-out calculations to show how critical thinking skills can be used to select the most appropriate treatment decision in a clinical scenario; this is followed by a whole chapter of exercises in critical thinking. This book emphasizes how readers can practically apply critical thinking skills to evaluate scientific literature and thereby make the most informed decisions for their patients and themselves.
Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 4th ed. by
An essential dental resource that goes beyond education! Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 4th Edition is the must-have, pocket-sized reference covering all areas of dentistry that's designed for both students and practitioners. This new edition defines over 10,000 terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, including materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more.'Throughout the text, over 300 illustrations address new innovations, research, technology, and products in the field, and extensive appendices provide quick access to the information you will use every day. Plus, a free companion website contains more than 5,000 audio pronunciations, 500 additional images, videos, and animations to help illustrate key concepts. Portable size offers convenience as a chair-side or computer-side reference. Companion website includes over 5,000 audio pronunciations, an expanded image collection, and videos and animations. Bolded pronunciations indicate terms that may be heard on the companion website. Practical appendices (in print and online) provide a reference to abbreviations, clinical oral structures, anesthesia color codes, implants, and more. Colored thumb tabs make it easy to locate definitions quickly. NEW! Terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, include materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more! NEW! Artwork, includes photos of the latest equipment, clinical techniques and modern illustrations to bring key concepts to life. NEW! Expanded audio pronunciations on the companion website ensures you're using the correct pronunciations of complex terms. NEW! Who's-who of dentistry Editorial Board features expert editor Margaret Fehrenbach - Dental Hygienist, Oral Biologist, Educational Consultant, Dental Science Writer, and Dental Hygiene Instructor.
Dental Law in Canada, 3rd ed.
Stedman's dental dictionary : illustratedAn audio dictionary of medical terms from the online version of the Merck Manual Home Health Handbook
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy
The Complete Human Body
Atlas of Human Anatomy by This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.