LibGuides: Modern Languages: Welcome

Modern Languages Librarian

Estelle Frank
Campus Librarian, Vernon
HSW Liaison Librarian
efrank@okanagan.bc.ca

Welcome

Welcome! This guide is an introduction to resources which may be useful for students in Modern Languages courses at Okanagan College. See the tabs above for language-specific materials available at Okanagan College Library and on the Web

Many of the online resources included in this guide are licensed for use by students and employees of Okanagan College. You must authenticate to use those licensed resources. Log in with your OC student or employee number and your family (last) name when prompted.

Books and DVDs which are not located at your Okanagan College campus library may be requested in the Library's catalogue.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Multilingual Visual Dictionaries

The Firefly Five Language Visual Dictionary
Call Number: AG 250 .C66372 2004 Reference (Kelowna)
This visual dictionary employs more than 6,000 full-color pictures to illustrate a vast array of objects and their corresponding names in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
The Macmillan Multilingual Visual Dictionary
Call Number: PE 1629 .C64 1994 Reference (Kelowna)
In addition to all of the 3,500 illustrations of the original edition as well as its 25,000 fully indexed English terms, the Multi-Lingual Edition includes all terms in Spanish, French, and German. Each entry has been prepared by specialists and verified by linguists in each language.

Oxford Reference Online Reference Books on Countries

A Guide to Countries of the World
This global handbook provides a wealth of information for every country in the world. Each entry gives a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. In addition, for each country there is a clear map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more.
World Flags
A quick reference guide to national flags
World Maps
Includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps.

Other Online Reference Books on Cultures of the World

The Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World
Includes information about foods and recipes from 70 representative countries and culture groups worldwide.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
Introduces food culture from numerous countries and cultures around the world.