LibGuides: Anthropology: Background Sources

Background Information

What are they?
Background sources (commonly referred to as reference sources) include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and directories.

After you've chosen a topic to research, you will need to search for information that will introduce you to the topic. Background sources provide you with:

Background Sources

Find definitions

Dictionary of Anthropology by Thomas Barfield (Editor)
Call Number: GN 307 .D485 1997
ISBN: 1557862826
Publication Date: 1998-01-13
Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology. by Winthrop, Robert H.
Call Number: GN 307 .W56 1991
ISBN: 0313242801
Publication Date: 1991
Dictionary of Sociology by John Scott
ISBN: 9780199683581
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Dictionary of the Social Sciences by Craig Calhoun (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195123715
Publication Date: 2002-05-02

Canadian Encyclopedia (E-Book) This link opens in a new window
Digital interactive version of The Canadian Encyclopedia
The Canadian Encyclopedia contains more than 35,000 articles in English and French and more than 30,000 multimedia items including images, maps, games, audio and video. The new interactive features include curated content exhibits, interactive timelines, immediate updates of important events and a user-generated content map that invites Canadians to share their stories.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by William A. Darity, Jr., ed.
ISBN: 9780028659657
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology by Charles E. Orser Jnr (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415215442
Publication Date: 2002-05-31
The Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology is a ground-breaking compendium of information about this ever-growing field. Concentrating on the post-1400 period as well as containing generic explanations of historical archaeology where needed, the encyclopedia is compiled by over 120 experts from around the world and contains more than 370 entries covering important concepts and sites.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks & other reference works in subjects areas such as science, nursing, psychology, sociology and other social sciences, business and languages.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology. e-Book. Birx, H. James Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc. 2006

Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology By: Orser, Charles E. London : Routledge. 2002. eBook., Database: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology : An Encyclopedia e-Book. Warms, Richard L. McGee, R. Jon Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc. 2013

Atlas of Global Development by World Bank Staff
ISBN: 9780821397589
Publication Date: 2013-04-08

Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Vered Amit (Editor)
Call Number: GN20 .A45 2004
ISBN: 0415223792
Publication Date: 2004-02-23

Classic Readings in Cultural Anthropology by Gary P. Ferraro
Call Number: GN 316 .C59 2004
ISBN: 0534612725
Publication Date: 2003-04-28
Small Places, Large Issues by Thomas Hylland Eriksen
ISBN: 9780745336954
Publication Date: 2015-10-15
Social and Cultural Anthropology by Joanna Overing; Nigel Rapport
Call Number: GN 316 .R37 2007
ISBN: 9780415367509
Publication Date: 2007-11-29