This guide is an introduction to resources and research tips that may be helpful to students in Anthropology courses at Okanagan College http://libguides.okanagan.bc.ca/anthropology
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.
Comprehensive selection of arts, humanities and social sciences journals and e-books. Also includes two Native American and Indigenous Studies e-book collections.
Full text collection of 400+ scholarly journals in all disciplines. For most journals, coverage begins with the first issue published (as far back as 1665) and ends 3 to 5 years back from the present. Searching JSTOR will often retrieve older articles not found by other sources.
Provides access to archival and current full-text issues of more than 1,400 scholarly journals across more than 50 academic disciplines. Search tips!
To increase precision, use Advanced and/or Expert search modes
By default, JSTOR looks for your search terms in the entire article. To reduce results, restrict your search to words in the Title and/or Author and/or Abstract as appropriate.
To restrict your search to research articles, check the box next to "Article" in the list of types.
JSTOR supports the use of wildcards for several different types of truncation. ? (question mark) replaces a single character, * (asterisk) replaces any number of characters, and & (ampersand) searches for singular and plural forms of a word, regardless of the number of characters.
Complete archive of National Geographic magazine (1888 - 1994), along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 journals, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
In some cases, certain publishers do not grant certain rights specific to their content. Check content for any restrictions.
License definitions & additional information
Permission to include content in coursepacks is NOT included under the terms of this license.
CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS to individual articles for access by Authorized Users for Permitted Uses under this Agreement, from within secure authentication environments. ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING: Members and Authorized Users may incorporate parts of the Licensed Material in resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication). Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgment of the source, listing title and copyright owner.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN by paper or electronic means, a single copy of an individual document within the guidelines of traditional interlibrary loan practices and applicable copyright laws.
Provides access to full text scholarly journals, encompassing life sciences, business, health, physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
OC Library provides access to the Wiley-Blackwell Journals Full Collection, as well as the following e-book titles:
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology
eLS (formerly Encyclopedia of Life Sciences)
eMagRes (previously Encyclopedia of Magnetic Resonance)
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
Encyclopedia of Special Education
Handbook of High-resolution Spectroscopy
The Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Media
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
The Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is an index to articles in journals held by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) in cooperation with Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. Nearly 800 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis. Records cover 1957 to the present.
A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
A multi-institutional collaborative project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East. Contains collections of the earliest written texts (cuneiform, hieroglyphs, and alphabets) in digitized form, archaeological site reports, and other content.
Primary archaeological data to complement more traditional means of publication, such as journals, collections of articles, and monographs.
Beyond serving as a data repository, the Comparative Archaeology Database collaborates with re-searchers in pursuit of two particular objectives: 1) accessible presentation of comprehensive metadata without which data are uninterpretable and thus useless (see Roche et al. 2015); and 2) exploration of the potential of digital information technology for presenting the multi-faceted data of archaeology in ever more useful ways that are at the same time resistant to software and hardware obsolescence.
Articles and review articles in all areas of social research, and occasional issues on a common theme, published by the New School for Social Research.
The flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association, reaching well over 12,000 readers with each issue. The journal advances the Association's mission through publishing articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound recordings and exhibits.
Browse the list of anthropology journals that OC library has access to.
Use Google Scholar to find more articles
Off-campus OC users must have library links set to "Okanagan College" under Scholar Preferences. Browsers must be set to accept Cookies. Instructions on how to set-up Google Scholar with OC Library can be found here.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.
