LibGuides: Therapist Assistant: Background Sources

Reference Sources to Get Started

CPS Full Access (Formerly RxTx) Up-to-date information on drugs used and available in Canada
Merck audio dictionary of medical terms Pronounciation guide for medical terms; can search for consumer health information
Merck manual: The Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy Medical reference information written for professionals
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing, and health professions 10th ed. 2017
Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary Dictionary of medical terminology

Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
Interactive 3D Animated Human Anatomy Modules for Clinical Practice, Research, and Teaching. Designed to enhance anatomy and physiology curriculums. Includes 19 body system modules, complete with clear 3D images, comprehensive text, clinical and case studies, learning objectives and quizzes.

Health dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks may be a useful starting point. Many of these resources provide basic information, overviews of topics, or introduce specialized terminology.

Print

These books can be found in the Library Reference section. Check availability with the links below.

Atlas of human anatomy. Netter: Ref QM 25 .N46 2010
Gray's anatomy: Ref QM 23.2 .G73 2016 (Penticton), Ref QM 23.2 .G73 2008 (Vernon/Kelowna/Salmon Arm)
Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary: Ref R 121 .D73 2012 (Kelowna), Ref R 121 .D73 2007 (Penticton/Vernon)
Professional guide to diseases: Ref RT 65 .P69 2012
Quick reference dictionary for physical therapy: Ref RM 696.5 .Q53 2013
Quick reference dictionary for occupational therapy: Ref RM 735 .J345 2015
Glossary of recreation and occupational therapy: Ref RM 736.7 .A97 2001
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing, & health professions: Ref R 121 .M89 2013