Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PeriAnesthesia Nursing Certificate (PNC)

Finding Research Articles Using Library Databases

Enter your search term(s) in the search box(es); each search box should have a single word or phrase (enclose in quotation marks) to express a concept. For example: perianesthesia  AND "patient care"

Limit your results using the options on the left of the results screen, or below the advanced search box. 

For example, you may select Research Article or you may want to select Randomized Controlled Trials or you may want to select one or more Publication Type, for example, Case study, Clinical trial, Randomized controlled trial

CINAHL Database Limiters

This database has a slightly different look but functions the same as other databases. 

If you are taken to a blank window, click the link in the yellow ribbon at the top of the screen to load the page:

The interface of Ovid databases looks slightly different from other databases, but has the same functionality. 

 

Use limiters to narrow your results:

Click on the title of an article to see the details and read online:

OCtopus is the Library's search engine. It functions like Google, aggregating content from many different databases into one set of results. It can be an efficient way of searching, however, it can be difficult to narrow results and sometimes provides too much information to sift through. OCtopus combines different types of sources into a single list of results, such as books, ebooks, journal articles, magazine articles, reports, etc. The functionality and layout is similar to other EBSCO databases.

Nursing Reference Center is a point of care database. It focuses on specific skills, EBC sheets, and patient education.

 

Click on the title of a result to see more information:

 

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.