LibGuides: ENGL 151 Short Fiction and the Novel: Writing + Citing (MLA Style)

MLA Style

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Recommended resource! Includes fully searchable full-text of the ninth edition of the MLA handbook.

MLA Handbook (9th ed, print.) by The Modern Language Association of America Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB 2369 .M52 2021 Reference (all campuses)

MLA Citation Style Libguide (Okanagan College Library)
Interactive online guide
MLA Citation Style QuickGuide (University of Alberta Library)
Includes "Deciphering Citations" example. Click on the MLA QuickGuide link
Works Cited: A Quick Guide (The MLA Style Center)
Click on "Get Started" to see three examples: an essay in a book collection, a video from a website, and a journal article retrieved from a database.
Ask the MLA (The MLA Style Center)
Searchable list of frequently asked questions. If you don't find what you're looking for you can submit a question
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)

Writing About Literature

Writing About Literature (Purdue OWL) This guide provides examples and description about writing papers in literature. It discusses research topics, how to begin to research, how to use information, and formatting.

Books on Writing About Literature

Writing About Literature : A Guide for the Student Critic
Call Number: PE 1479 .C7 G377 2013 (Kelowna)
Writing About Literature
Call Number: PE 1479 .C7 R59 2012 Reference (all campuses)
A Short Guide to Writing About Literature, 2nd Can. ed.
Call Number: PE 1479 .C7 B3 2004 (Kelowna)