LibGuides: Gender, Sexuality, &amp; Women's Studies Research Guide: Articles + Databases

DATABASES

The list of all GSWS Subject Specific Databases at Okanagan College.

Find Canadian peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers -

Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database

Find Social Science journal articles - some of which are peer reviewed -

Off-campus OC users must have library links set to "Okanagan College" under Scholar Preferences. Browsers must be set to accept Cookies. Instructions on how to set-up Google Scholar with OC Library can be found here.

What is a scholarly journal?

A scholarly journal (also called academic journals, scientific journals, or peer reviewed journals) is a periodical that publishes articles written by experts in a particular field of study. The articles are written for experts or students of the field, and use academic or technical language. "Peer-reviewed (also called refereed) journals have an editorial board of subject experts who review and evaluate submitted articles before accepting them for publication. A journal may be a scholarly journal but not a peer-reviewed journal." [1]

TIP: When you find a journal article that is relevant to your research/writing, check the reference list to find similar articles.

PUBLIC Databases (Free Articles)

Articles from academic journals, digital archives and other publications can be found in select databases and indexes that provide free public access. Usually these sources are subsidized by government agencies, non-profits, or private companies.

Canadian Lesbian + Gay Archives
Acquire, preserves, organizes, and gives public access to information and materials by and about LGBT people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada.
Women Working 1800-1930
Features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images. From Harvard University.
People with a History An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans* History
People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the U.S. & the U.K. 1815-1914
Over 420 separately published trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library's extensive trial collections. Included are a number of trials of the wealthy and renowned such as an account of the adultery trial of Caroline, Queen Consort of George IV, the sodomy trial of Oscar Wilde, and the trial of Harry Thaw for the murder of Stanford White, the famous architect who was Evelyn Nesbit Thaw's lover.
More about this database...less...
The larger part of the collection, however, consists of the stories of ordinary men and women thrust into the public eye when their marriages and love affairs went wrong or their relationships did not conform to social standards.

Feminae : Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Franciscan Women database
Aims at providing in-depth information on Poor Clares, female Franciscan Tertiaries and aligned groups from the thirteenth through the eighteenth centuries.
Epistolæ: Medieval Women's Letters
A collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter.

Highlighted E-Journals

Canadian Woman Studies
Coverage: Winter 1987 (Vol. 8, no. 4) - present
Peer reviewed
Resources for Feminist Research
Dec 1985/Jan 1986 (Vol. 13, no. 4) - 2010 (Vol. 33, no. 3/4), some exceptions
Spaces Between : An Undergraduate Feminist Journal
A student-run, student-written, peer reviewed undergraduate journal.
Women Suffrage and Beyond
Concentrates on the historic evolution of woman suffrage and connects the various movements for suffrage and political equality that predate and follow franchise extensions.
Camera Obscura
Scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies.
More about this database...less...
The journal encourages contributions in areas such as the conjunctions of gender, race, class, and sexuality with audiovisual culture; new histories and theories of film, television, video, and digital media; and politically engaged approaches to a range of media practices.
Differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies
A critical forum where the problematic of differences is explored in texts ranging from the literary and the visual to the political and social.
Feminist Review
A peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journal setting new agendas for feminism.
Feminist Studies
Articles that focus on women's experience and on gender as a category of analysis of a critical, scholarly, speculative and political nature, poetry and art, reports from the women's movement and strategies for change.
Feminist Formations
Feminist Formations, publishes the most up-to-date, interdisciplinary, multicultural feminist scholarship linking feminist theory with teaching and activism.
Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies
Frontiers is one of the oldest and most respected feminist journals in the United States.
Gender & Society
Gender studies in anthropology, economics, history, political science, sociology, and social psychology that are framed by a social analysis and a feminist perspective.
Atlantis
Coverage: Spring 1987 (Vol. 12, no. 2) - present (with exceptions)