LibGuides: Gender, Sexuality, &amp; Women's Studies Research Guide: GSWS 100: Intro to Gender, Sexualities & Women’s Studies

Fact Sheet Assignment

Create a fact sheet about a topic related to gender, women's studies and sexualities. Your face sheet should be exactly 2 pages. Citations should be on a third page. Your fact sheet may not be longer or shorter; it is two pages because this would serve as a helpful handout for community agencies. This is the kind of document you would produce for a workplace. Your fact sheet will present credible data in a way that narrates a contemporary social issue. That is, your presentation of data tells a story. It should be focused, organized, and thorough. You may present it in point form, in graphs, in charts, or images. Any writing must be grammatically correct. Look carefully at the sample fact sheets on the class Moodle. Each fact sheet must include: a definition of terms, at least two visual representations of data, at least three credible source citations, and enough reliable information to present a basic level of knowledge on the topic. Sources should be footnoted so they don't take up space on the page.

Choose one of these topics:

Gender, Race, and Workplace Safety in Canada
Gender, poverty, and menstrual health in Canada
Gender, Race, and Immigration to Canada
Gender, Race, and Asylum Seeking to Canada
Gender, Disability, and Poverty in Canada
Gender, race, and sports in Canada
Gender, Race, and executive leadership in Canada
Gender and Indigenous Governance in Canada
Trans Rights in Canada
Conversion Therapy Laws in Canada
Gender, Race, and Incarceration in Canada
Gender, Race, and Post-Secondary Education Access in Canada
Gender, Race, and Toxic Drug Supply in Canada
Race, Geography, and Access to Abortion in Canada
Race, Gender, and Reporting of Sexual Violence in Canada

GSWS100: Library Presentation Brief library presentation on finding credible sources.

Data & Statistics Resources

Statista This link opens in a new window With a team of over 450 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.

Statistics Canada
Data BC Catalogue Search
BC Data & Statistics - People, Population & Community
2021 Census of Population The census provides a detailed statistical portrait of Canada and its people by their demographic, social and economic characteristics. This information is important for communities and is vital for planning services such as child care, schooling, family services, and skills training for employment.
Census Profile, 2021 Census of Population
Statistics Canada Data Search
BC Crime, police, & police resource statistics
OECD Canada Data
WHO Data
2021 Census - Topics The 2021 Census of Population Program offers a wide range of analysis, data, reference and geographical information according to topics (subjects) that paint a portrait of Canada and its population.
Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics
LEGISinfo

Resources for Finding Reports

HillNotes: Quick reads on Canadian Topics The HillNotes blog provides research analysis and a collection of authoritative documents, on current events of significant interest to Parliament and emerging issues that will be significant to Parliament in the future.
Library of Parliament Research Publications Provide non-partisan, reliable and timely information and analysis on current and emerging issues, legislation and major public policy topics.
Government of Canada Publication Catalogue
Aboriginal Healing Foundation Publications The research series area provides a number of relevant reports.
Government BC - Gender Equity & LGBTQ2S+ Resources Our lives and communities are enriched by the many different people and cultures that make up British Columbia.
Library of Parliament Search for relevant reports, news, and legislation.
Justice Canada Reports
National Centre for Truth & Reconciliation Reports
Angus Reid Institute A Canadian national, not-for-profit, non-partisan public opinion research foundation established to enhance and encourage better understanding of issues and trends affecting economic, social, governance, philanthropy, public administration, domestic and foreign policy in Canada and its world.
RAND Reports RAND is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous.
Policy Horizons Policy Horizons Canada is the Government of Canada’s centre of excellence in foresight. Empowers the Government of Canada with a future-oriented mindset and outlook to strengthen decision making. Produces content that may attract academic, public, and international attention, and does not publish commentary on policy decisions of the Government.

Other Resources

Infographic examples from Stats Canada Infographics can be used to quickly communicate a message, to simplify the presentation of large amounts of data, to see data patterns and relationships, and to monitor changes in variables over time.
Indigenous Digital Art Archive The Indigenous Digital Art Archive (IDAA) is a project in its early formations and developed by the Initiative for Indigenous Futures (IIF) to organize, care for, and make accessible the records of Indigenous digital artists.

Citing & Referencing Sources

OC's APA Guide APA resource page with links to tools and tips for citations

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second edition of the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes and a final assessment.