Background Research - GEOG 207 - Introduction to Biogeography

The Value of Background Sources

Background sources, also known as reference sources, include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, directories, and other online or print "books". You might want to consult one or more of them when you're first starting your research, especially if the topic you are researching is unfamiliar to you. They can be excellent sources of factual information, concepts, theories, definitions, terminology and references to other, more in-depth sources of information.

In OCtopus Research Starters (of certain subjects) will appear at the Top of your search results page.

Research sources such as Oxford Dictionary of Ecology.

Background Sources for learning more about Floral and Fauna

AccessScience
AccessScience is an authoritative online resource that contains incisive, high-quality educational material spanning the major scientific disciplines.
GBIF - Global Biodiversity Information Facility
GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
Oxford Reference Online
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks & other reference works in subjects areas such as science, nursing, psychology, sociology and other social sciences, business and languages.

Mammal Species of the World by Don E. Wilson (Editor); DeeAnn M. Reeder (Editor)
Call Number: QL708 .M35 2005 v.1 - V.2
ISBN: 0801882214
Publication Date: 2005-12-21
Wilson and Reeder's Mammal Species of the World is the classic reference book on the taxonomic classification and distribution of the more than 5400 species of mammals that exist today. The third edition includes detailed information on nomenclature and, for the first time, common names. Each concise entry covers type locality, distribution, synonyms, and major reference sources. The systematic arrangement of information indicates evolutionary relationships at both the ordinal and the family level. This indispensable reference work belongs in public and academic libraries throughout the world and on the shelf of every biologist who works with mammals.