Using the Permalink Feature in Research Database - Therapist Assistant - THER 140 - Recreation Therapy Assistant: Principles & Practice I

What is a Research Database

A library research database is a searchable electronic index of published, reliable resources (including peer-reviewed) sources. Such databases provide access to a broad array of academic research materials from books/e-books, journals, newspapers, magazines, streaming media, data and statistics. Some databases also include e-books, relevant Web resources, and multimedia.

Such databases are one of the main sources of information you search for when using OCtopus.

EBSCO (an acronym for Elton B. Stephens Company) is one, but not the exclusive, provider of such databases. EBSCO is also the provider of the OCtopus, it also provides access to the many of the library's books/e-books and journals/e-journals.

Research Databases PermLink

United States’ universities are forgetting about equitable bicycle programming on campus.
Regular participation in bicycling offers many health benefits. Universities throughout the U.S. have a large proportion of underrepresented populations among students/employees (e.g., racial/ethnic minorities, LGBTQ+, disabled) who participate in cycling at lower rates. The purpose of this study was to understand the current practices of universities for implementing equitable bicycling programming to their students/faculty/staff.A volunteer sample of U.S. university bicycle representatives (n = 19) were interviewed to analyze current practices, barriers, motivators, and future tools for equitable programming.Multiple themes emerged from the interview, including barriers to programming such as lack of personnel and finances, as well as motivators such as partnering with off-campus organizations and connecting community/university infrastructures.Although various barriers exist for universities which may present decreased equitable programming, university bicycle/alternative transportation departments should consider partnering with on and off-campus organizations rooted into underrepresented populations to better provide equitable programming to these populations.

More about this database... less...

Elliott, L. D., & Bopp, M. (2022). United States’ universities are forgetting about equitable bicycle programming on campus. Journal of American College Health, 1–10. https://doi-org.okanagan.idm.oclc.org/10.1080/07448481.2022.2141058

Because the library also licenses content from other research database providers and publishers, it is advisable to see if they display a persistent or stable link that links you directly back to the article. If they do, you should use that link to create a stable link back to the information rather than using the URL displayed in the browser's address bar.

If no stable URL is displayed, use the URL found in your browser's address bar; test it (and retest it in a couple of hours) to ensure it still works. Some URLs are created in a fashion that only works for a short time.

Unstable URLs are the reason you should keep track of important information that you discover. In OCtopus, Cite, Save and Email functions are available to help you with this task. If you are using sources that you found on the Web (Public Internet), make sure to record enough information that always to conduct a search that will retrieve the source.