Access to Practical Nursing (APN) & Practical Nursing Research Guide

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.

The PubMed database contains more than 37 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

The mission of the Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association is to improve the health of Indigenous Peoples, by supporting Indigenous Nurses and by promoting the development and practice of Indigenous Health Nursing. In advancing this mission, the Association will engage in activities related to recruitment and retention, member support, consultation, research and education.

Licensed practical nurses (LPNs) have successfully completed an entry-l​evel LPN education program and met BCCNM registration requirements. LPNs provide nursing services for the promotion, maintenance and restoration of health and the prevention of illness and injury. LPNs focus ​on clients with stable or predictable states of health across all stages of life. LPNs practice both autonomously and in collaboration with other health care team members within the LPN Scope of Practice.​

The Canadian Nurses Association (CNA), known in French as the Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada (AIIC), is the national professional association representing registered nurses, nurse practitioners, licensed and registered practical nurses, registered psychiatric nurses and retired nurses across all 13 provinces and territories in Canada. CNA advances the practice and profession of nursing to improve health outcomes and strengthen Canada's publicly funded, not-for-profit health system. CNA represents Canadian nursing to other organizations and to governments nationally and internationally. It gives nurses a strong national association through which they can support each other and speak with a powerful, unified voice. It provides nurses with a core staff of nursing and health policy consultants and experts in other areas such as communications and specialty certification. CNA's active role in legislative policy influences the health care decisions that affect nursing professionals every day. It has published a large number of documents, including the Code of Ethics for Registered Nurses

mission is to break the walls down, build the person up, and bring the people together to improve patient care. We do this by advancing expertise, driving evidence, advocacy and influence-building, and innovative growth.

The College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta regulates the licensed practical nurse profession in a manner that protects and serves the public.

BC Ministry of Health - Patients as Partners Initiative
Contains searchable list of disease-specific organizations

Maintained by the Kelowna Community Resources Society (KCRS)

Maintained by the Social Planning Council for the North Okanagan

Maintained by OneSky Community Resources

WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. Provides critical data and analyses for over 30 health themes ranging from health systems to disease-specific themes, as well as direct access to the full database.

The Recalls and Safety Alerts web application provides easy access to a comprehensive list of recalls, advisories, and safety alerts. This web application includes recalls from Health Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, and Transport Canada.

Physicians' Desk Reference [USA]

Information for healthcare professionals (Drugs)