Adult Upgrading English 80 - Fall 2024 - Barbara Bailey

A searchable version of the latest McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online.

Can humans use the ocean to lift people out of poverty while protecting its valuable ecosystems? Certainly, say proponents of the growing sustainable blue economy movement. The first-ever Sustainable Blue Economy Conference, held in Kenya in November 2018, brought together thousands of ocean experts and activists to discuss how to use our ocean sustainably. The concept is gaining momentum, including at the highest levels of decision-making. In September, 12 heads of state from around the world and the UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for the Ocean, Peter Thomson, launched the High-level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy to catalyze bold solutions for ocean health and wealth. We asked Madhushree Chatterjee, Chief of the Natural Resources and Interlinkages Branch of UN DESA’s Division for Sustainable Development Goals to give us her impressions of this growing movement.

Abortion is the premature ending of a pregnancy. Inducing an abortion was a crime in Canada until 1988, when the Supreme Court of Canada struck down the law as unconstitutional. Since then, abortion has been legal at any stage in a woman’s pregnancy. Abortion is publicly funded as a medical procedure under the Canada Health Act. (See Health Policy.) However, access to abortion services differs across the country. Despite its legalization, abortion remains one of the most divisive political issues of our time.

Henekh (Henry) Morgentaler, CM, abortion advocate, physician (born 19 March 1923 in Lodz, Poland; died 29 May 2013 in Toronto, ON. Morgentaler spent much of his life advocating for women’s reproductive rights at a time when they could not legally obtain abortions. He established illegal abortion clinics across Canada, challenging the federal and provincial governments to repeal their abortion laws. As a result of his campaign (and the work of organizations such as the Canadian Abortion Rights Action League, CARAL), the Supreme Court struck down federal abortion law as unconstitutional in 1988, thereby decriminalizing the procedure.

Abortions are available in B.C. and, for B.C. residents who have current coverage, are paid for by the Medical Services Plan. Several clinics, doctors, and hospitals throughout the province offer these services. Counselling about pregnancy options, the procedure itself, birth control, and other topics are available.

Emergency contraception (EC) helps prevent pregnancy after unprotected sex or a failed contraceptive. A broken condom is an example of a failed contraceptive. EC does not protect against sexually transmitted infections (STIs). EC does not cause an abortion or miscarriage if you are already pregnant. It only prevents a pregnancy from happening in the first place.
Emergency contraception is different from abortion. Abortion ends a pregnancy. There are two types of abortion: medical abortion and surgical abortion. Medical abortion is a series of pills (Mifegymiso®) that you can take at home, if you are less than 9 weeks pregnant. Surgical abortion typically occurs after 9 weeks of pregnancy. Medical and surgical abortions are free for B.C. residents.

The new Curio.ca platform provides streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Find documentaries from TV and radio, news reports, archival material, excerpts and more thousands of programs and resources available.

Online video streaming service distributing films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, and many others. Provides an excellent selection of classic and contemporary educational documentaries and theatrical films.

Full access to 23 years of CBC News video and audio archives. Archive version is available here.
Internet browsers Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer v. 9 or higher are recommended for viewing videos.

The Government of Canada Web Archive provides access to Canadian web content collected and preserved by Library and Archives Canada.

OC Library Online Dictionaries

OC Library Online Encyclopedias