PNSG - Pharmacology and Drug Information

Known for its clear explanations of drug prototypes and how they work, Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care, 9th Edition provides a solid understanding of key drugs and their implications for nursing care. A perennial student favorite, this book simplifies complex concepts, using large and small print to distinguish need-to-know drug content from the material that's merely nice to know. New to this edition are quick-reference summaries of prototype drugs, safety alerts, and a stronger QSEN focus. Written by noted nursing pharmacology instructors Jacqueline Burchum and Laura Rosenthal, this text helps you understand pharmacology as opposed to merely memorizing drug facts. UNIQUE! Engaging writing style with clear explanations makes difficult pharmacology concepts easy to grasp and even enjoyable to learn. Large print highlights essential, need-to-know information, and small print indicates nice-to-know information. A drug prototype approach focuses on one representative drug within each drug family that characterizes all members of its group, so that you can apply your understanding to related drugs currently on the market as well as drugs that will be released in the future. Nursing implications of drug therapy are integrated throughout the text and summarized at the end of chapters, demonstrating the vital relationship between drug therapy and nursing care. Reader-friendly features make learning easier with concise drug summary tables, chapter outlines, key points, and a visual guide to the prototype drugs in each class. Learning resources on an Evolve companion website include video clips, animations, case studies, and NCLEX® exam-style review questions. Coverage of dietary supplements and herbal remedies describes potential dangerous interactions between prescribed and over-the-counter drugs and dietary supplements. NEW! QSEN focus includes Patient-Centered Care Across the Life Span features highlighting safe and appropriate patient care during different phases of life. NEW Safety Alert features emphasize the QSEN competency relating to patient safety. NEW! Prototype Drugs features serve as a quick-reference aid to learning. NEW! Chapter outlines include page numbers to help you locate topics quickly. UPDATED Special Interest Topic boxes use engaging vignettes to focus on emerging and currently trending issues in pharmacology. NEW authors continue Dr. Lehne's clear, unique writing style, with the same accuracy and state-of-the-science updates.

Help your students learn to calculate dosages accurately with this easy-to-use pocket guide. Packed with real clinical examples and practice problems, Math for Nurses includes a review of basic math skills, measurement systems, and drug calculations/preparations, making it ideal for use in clinical settings or as a study aid. The book's step-by-step approach coupled with frequent examples that illustrate problem-solving helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to calculate dosages effectively and improve the accuracy of drug delivery. Highlights of the 9th Edition Complete: This is the only dosage calculation pocket reference available today that covers the steps of drug preparation. Comprehensive: All methods of dosage calculations are used, including ratio, proportion, formula, and dimensional analysis. Hands-on: Practice problems throughout the text and end-of-chapter and end-of-unit review questions aid students' application and recall of material Practical: A handy pull-out quick-reference card contains basic equivalents, conversion factors, and math formulas. Interactive: Virtual Chalkboard tutorials (followed by quizzes) solve problems step-by-step using three different methods with a voice over that explains each step.

Mosby's Pharmacology Memory NoteCards: Visual, Mnemonic, and Memory Aids for Nurses, 3rd Edition is a colorfully illustrated collection of spiral-bound cards that brings together the difficult drugs and topics related to pharmacology into one portable volume. Using a wide variety of learning aids, humor, illustrations, and mnemonics, this valuable tool helps you master pharmacology in class, in clinicals, and in preparation for the NCLEX® examination. Specific topics include: administration, antibiotics/antivirals, anticoagulants, cardiac drugs, CNS drugs, diuretics, endocrine drugs, GI drugs, musculoskeletal drugs, pain drugs, psychiatric drugs, pulmonary drugs, and reproductive/OB drugs. For practicing nurses, these cards provide an always-useful refresher on pharmacology. UNIQUE! Over 90 full-color cartoons offer humorous and memorable presentations of key drugs. UNIQUE! Color-highlighted monographs make it easier to identify nursing priorities on common medications. UNIQUE! Mnemonics and other time-tested memory aids help you grasp and remember even the most complex concepts. Thick pages and a spiral-bound format create a portable tool that is durable enough for the clinical environment. Colored thumb tabs at the bottom of the page allow you to find topics quickly. What You Need to Know sections on each card cover key information in a quick and easy-to-review format. Colored highlights in the What You Need to Know sections emphasize four central topics: Serious/Life-Threatening Implications in pink Most Frequent Side Effects are blue Important Nursing Implications are yellow Patient Teaching information is green NEW! 8 brand-new cards focus on antiemetics, sunscreens, prostaglandins, acetaminophen, and more. NEW coverage highlights contemporary and timely topics on pharmacology - all in one clinical tool.

Still THE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians...always dependable, always up to date! Look for these outstanding features Completely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring o ver 3,700 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format NEW 34 brand-new FDA-approved drugs in this edition, including 31 complete monographs--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "new drugs" section for easy retrieval NEW More than 8,100 clinical updates --new dosages and indications, Black Box warnings, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information NEW ISMP-recommended tall-man lettering for look alike-sound alike drugs Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns Photoguide insert with images of 455 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules Plus FREE companion Toolkit available online through NDHnow.com Monthly FDA updates featuring newly approved drugs, indications, and warnings Pharmacology videos, audio pronunciation guide, and English-Spanish translator Equianalgesic dosing guidelines for opioid drugs Mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs NCLEX®-style questions, free CE tests, plus bonus discounts...and more! Table of Contents Anatomy of a monograph...............................................................inside front cover Contributors and consultants...................................................................................v How to use Nursing2019 Drug Handbook ...............................................................vi Quick guide to special symbols, logos, and highlighted terms................................ix Guide to Abbreviations.............................................................................................x General information 1. Drug actions, interactions, and reactions 2. Drug therapy across the lifespan 3. Safe drug administration 4. Selected therapeutic drug classifications Alphabetical listing of drugs by generic name New Drugs Appendices 1. Avoiding common drug errors: Best practices and prevention 2. Pregnancy risk categories: The FDA''s Final Rule 3. Controlled substance schedules 4. Abbreviations to avoid (The Joint Commission) 5. Pediatric drugs commonly involved in drug errors 6. Elder care medication tips 7. Prescription drug abuse: Identifying and treating toxicity 8. Understanding biosimilar drugs 9. Nursing process: Patient safety during drug therapy 10. Serotonin syndrome: What you should know to protect your patients 11. Tumor lysis syndrome: A life-threatening emergency 12. Antidiarrheals: Indications and dosages 13. Antidotes: Indications and dosages 14. Selected biologicals and blood derivatives: Indications and dosages 15. Common combination drugs: Indications and dosages 16. Vaccines and toxoids: Indications and dosages 17. Vitamins and minerals: Indications and dosages 18. Antacids: Indications and dosages 19. Laxatives: Indications and dosages 20. Additional OTC drugs: Indications and dosages 21. Selected ophthalmic drugs: Indications and dosages 22. Do not use: Dangerous Abbreviations, symbols, and dose designations (ISMP Canada) 23. Decision tree: Deciding about medication administration 24. Canadian National Drug Schedules 25. Safe disposal of unused drugs: What patients need to know 26. Therapeutic drug monitoring guidelines 27. Less commonly used drugs: Indications and dosages 28. Additional new drugs: Indications and dosages

Ready to master the medication process? Tap into the go-to resource for nursing pharmacology basics, with the fully updated new fifth edition of Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy!®.   Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance so to can grasp the fundamentals in enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses.    Learn the ins and outs of nursing pharmacology care, with the latest data and protocols:   NEW chapters on patient education, sensory drugs, and dermatologic drugs  NEW chapter on medication safety, including abbreviations to avoid and a review of dosage calculations NEW content on current approved medications, and dosages, and expected versus adverse effects NEW content on emergency drugs, herbs/supplements, immunization schedule, and more Hundreds of colorful diagrams, drawings, and charts that illustrate core concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions and clear direction on administering drugs; drug distribution, absorption, and metabolism; drug classes and their uses; and potential drug interactions Quick-scan outline format offers up-to-date guidance on areas including: Nursing pharmacology fundamentals  Concepts of pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and pharmacotherapeutics Pain drugs, autonomic nervous system drugs, neurologic and neuromuscular drugs  Psychotherapeutic, anti-infective, anti-inflammatory, anti-allergy, and immunosuppressant drugs Antineoplastic drugs, drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance Ways a drug may affect patients of different ages and other warnings Content reflects the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model - guidance from initial assessment to evaluating outcomes "Practice Makes Perfect" end-of-book practice exam - approximately 100 new NCLEX®-style questions, to increase your exam confidence Chapter features include: Prototype pro - Actions, indications, and nursing considerations for common prototype drugs A three-step process is provided throughout the chapters to help you care for individuals taking commonly prescribed medications  Pharm function - Explains and illustrates how drugs act in the body, and addresses how to recognize and treat adverse reactions Before you give that drug - Warnings to consider before you administer a drug Education edge - Information to share with your patient Black Box Warnings boxes draw attention to life-threatening concerns Lifespan Lightbulb boxes highlight information about how a drug or drug class may affect patients of different ages Quick quiz - End-of-chapter questions with answers/explanations, to help you remember the essentials Nurse Joy and Jake illustrated characters offer tips and insights throughout     About the Clinical Editors   Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, FAADN, is a Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, MSN, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, is a Nursing Faculty member at Galen College of Nursing in Louisville, Kentucky  Carolyn Gersch, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, is a Professor of Practice in the Nursing Program at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio