Catering by
From launching the business, establishing pricing, setting up a kitchen, staffing, and marketing to planning events, organizing service, preparing food, managing the dining room and beverages, and developing menus, Catering: A Guide to Managing a Successful Business Operation, Second Edition, provides detailed guidance on every aspect of the catering business. This Second Edition is thoroughly revised and updated to include information on catering for dietary restrictions and food allergies, contemporary techniques such as sous-vide technology, and plating and presentation. Included is a new chapter of practical mainstream and on-trend recipes and sample menus for a variety of catered events from brunches to black-tie affairs
Okanagan Eats by
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2024 TASTE CANADA AWARD - REGIONAL//CULTURAL COOKBOOKS A collection of more than 70 signature recipes from the Okanagan Valley's best chefs, restaurants, cafés, bakeries and wineries. The Okanagan, Similkameen and Thompson Valleys in British Columbia are known to produce some of the most outstanding wines in the world. But the region is also emerging as an exciting culinary scene. Inspired by the Interior's organic farming and sustainable agriculture, the region's chefs are quietly bringing world-class techniques to the table, taking the golden beets, tomatillos, wild mushrooms, haskap berries and everything that grows so abundantly in every micro-season and transforming it into the kind of meals that would tickle a food critic's palate. Okanagan Eats is a deep dive into this dynamic food region where locality is the name of the game. From a summer heirloom gazpacho to wine-braised short ribs, an orchard salad to a decadent brownie trifle, there is something delicious to suit every taste. While the recipes are chef-driven, they are intended for home cooks and designed to be uncomplicated and fuss-free. Each recipe includes a suggested drink pairing, reflecting the spirit of collaboration championed by the community. Baked Brie with Haskap-Jalapeño Jam pairs beautifully with Fitzpatrick Family Vineyard's Fitz Crémant sparkling wine. Duck and Waffles for Sunday brunch is made more decadent accompanied by Hillside Winery's Syrah. And for the Big Ole Yorkie Bowl, Crannog Ales's Back Hand of God Stout is the only way to go. Okanagan Eats aims to bring the culinary traditions of this flourishing scene to greater prominence - where food is fresh and delicious, and wine is bountiful.
Made in Taiwan by
Explore the taste and culture of Taiwan in this James Beard Award Finalist featuring never-before-seen exclusive recipes. "A vibrant, strikingly-photographed guide to the soul of Taiwan, told through food" (Serious Eats). NAMED A BEST COOKBOOK OF 2023 BY THE NEW YORK TIMES, SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, WIRED, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING, LOS ANGELES TIMES, DELISH, EPICURIOUS, and SERIOUS EATS Taipei-based food journalist Clarissa Wei presents Made in Taiwan, a cookbook that celebrates the island nation's unique culinary identity--despite a refusal by the Chinese government to recognize its sovereignty. The expansive book contains deeply researched essays and more than 100 recipes inspired by the people who live in Taiwan today. For generations, Taiwanese cuisine has been miscategorized under the broad umbrella term of Chinese food. Backed with historical evidence and interviews, Wei makes a case for why Taiwanese food should get its own spotlight. Made in Taiwan includes classics like Peddler Noodles, Braised Minced Pork Belly, and Three-Cup Chicken, and features authentic, never-before-seen recipes and techniques like how to make stinky tofu from scratch and broth tips from an award-winning beef noodle soup master. Made in Taiwan is an earnest reflection of what the food is like in modern-day Taiwan from the perspective of the people who have lived there for generations. It is the story of a proud nation--a self-sufficient collective of people who continue to forge on despite unprecedented ambiguity.
Garde Manger by
The leading guide to the professional kitchen's cold food station, now fully revised and updated Garde Manger: The Art and Craft of the Cold Kitchen has been the market's leading textbook for culinary students and a key reference for professional chefs since its original publication in 1999. This new edition improves on the last with the most up-to-date recipes, plating techniques, and flavor profiles being used in the field today. New information on topics like artisanal cheeses, contemporary styles of pickles and vinegars, and contemporary cooking methods has been added to reflect the most current industry trends. And the fourth edition includes hundreds of all-new photographs by award-winning photographer Ben Fink, as well as approximately 450 recipes, more than 100 of which are all-new to this edition. Knowledge of garde manger is an essential part of every culinary student's training, and many of the world's most celebrated chefs started in garde manger as apprentices or cooks. The art of garde manger includes a broad base of culinary skills, from basic cold food preparations to roasting, poaching, simmering, and sautéing meats, fish, poultry, vegetables, and legumes. This comprehensive guide includes detailed information on cold sauces and soups; salads; sandwiches; cured and smoked foods; sausages; terrines, pâtes, galantines, and roulades; cheese; appetizers and hors d'oeuvre; condiments, crackers, and pickles; and buffet development and presentation.
Plantbased : 80 nourishing, umami-rich recipes from the kitchen of a passionate chef by
Plantbased is your ultimate culinary guide to discovering the richness and abundance that a nourishing wholefoods plant-based diet can bring. Learn how to cook delicious and easy dishes with staple goods, such as grains, beans, root vegetables, green vegetables, seaweeds and fermented foods. To achieve a nutritionally complete vegan diet you need to include more grains, beans and vegetables in your meals. But what are wholegrains to start with? And what on earth can you cook them with? Alexander invites you into his kitchen to answer these questions and more, to teach us the secrets of plant-based cooking that is so beneficial for our bodies. Alexander's recipes are influenced by the wonderful flavours of Japanese cuisine as well as the Israeli food culture in which he grew up. Join Alexander in his cosy little inner-city kitchen as he shares his knowledge for achieving a healthy plant-based diet that's beautiful, delicious, sustainable and affordable. Something we can proudly regard as the food of our future.
The Korean K-Drama Cookbook : Make the Dishes Seen in Your Favorite TV Shows! by
Eat like your favorite K-Drama TV Stars! If you're a fan of Korean dramas, or simply a fan of Korean food, then this book is for you! Here you'll find 61 delicious recipes for classic Korean dishes, including those you may have seen on your favorite K-Drama shows; including: Make the Buchimgae Pancakes featured in Episode 3 of Crash Landing on You, when a group of nosy neighbors use a gift of pancakes as an excuse to inspect Jeonghyeok's new fiance Make the Spicy Noodles in Black Bean Sauce that Jun-wan and Ik-sun enjoy on their date in Episode 7 of Hospital Playlist Make the Spicy Braised Tofu that Hye-jin stuffs into Ha-nee's mouth in Episode 3 of Was It Love to make him stop talking In addition to the easy-to-make, fully illustrated recipes for main and side dishes, you'll also find recipes for Korean cocktails and tasty snacks to enjoy while you're watching TV! Features dishes seen on: Itaewon Class Crash Landing On You One Spring Night Hospital Playlist She Was Pretty What's Wrong with Secretary Kim? It's Okay Not To Be Okay The King: Eternal Monarch Mystic Pop-up Bar Familiar Wife Start-up Record of Youth Chocolate When the Camellia Blooms Hi Bye, Mama! Something in the Rain Romance is a Bonus Book Was It Love?
The Simple Art of Rice by
ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES' "BEST COOKBOOKS OF 2023" NAMED ONE OF THE BEST FALL BOOKS BY EATER, FORBES, ROBB REPORT, PLATE, GARDEN & GUN, ANDREW ZIMMERN'S SPILLED MILK, DELISH, AND NY MAG'S THE STRATEGIST. INCLUDED IN BEST GIFT GUIDES FROM SAVEUR AND ESQUIRE From award-winning author and acclaimed chef JJ Johnson comes a cookbook full of delicious recipes that celebrate the history and versatility one of the world's essential foods. The Simple Art of Rice is a celebration of rice and the many cultures in which this life-giving grain takes pride of place at the center of every table. The recipes are influenced by these global flavors from Asia to Europe, Africa to the Americas, and feature many of the world's favorite dishes. With Danica Novgorodoff, award-winning author Chef JJ Johnson takes readers on an informative and exciting culinary adventure that will help anyone master the art of cooking rice. From iconic savory dishes like Liberian Jollof and Poppy William's Red Rice and Beans to sweet finishes like Champorado, The Simple Art of Rice has a rice dish for every kind of meal and occasion, including nourishing comfort foods and dishes that can be made quickly to transform a weeknight dinner into a feast. The book also features a fool-proof method for turning out perfect rice every time, as well as fascinating information on the role that rice has played in culture and history.
An Edge in the Kitchen by
Why are most of us so woefully uninformed about our kitchen knives We are intimidated by our knives when they are sharp, annoyed by them when they are dull, and quietly ashamed that we don't know how to use them with any competence. For a species that has been using knives for nearly as long as we have been walking upright, that's a serious problem. An Edge in the Kitchen is the solution, an intelligent and delightful debunking of the mysteries of kitchen knives once and for all. If you can stack blocks, you can cut restaurant-quality diced vegetables. If you can fold a paper airplane, you can sharpen your knives better than many professionals. Veteran cook Chad Ward provides an in-depth guide to the most important tool in the kitchen, including how to choose the best kitchen knives in your price range, practical tutorials on knife skills, a step-by-step section on sharpening, and more----all illustrated with beautiful photographs throughout. Along the way you will discover what a cow sword is, and why you might want one; why chefs are abandoning their heavy knives in droves; and why the Pinch and the Claw, strange as they may sound, are in fact the best way to make precision vegetable cuts with speed and style. An Edge in the Kitchen is the one and only guide to the most important tool in the kitchen.
Pasta Every Day by
2024 James Beard Award Winner * Named a Best Cookbook of the Year by The New York Times・Bon Appetit・Vice・The LA Times * "A masterpiece." --Vice Make your homemade pasta dreams come true with this "new essential" (Food & Wine) from the creator of Pasta Social Club: the simplest guide ever to making fresh pasta doughs, shapes, fillings, and sauces--full of clever techniques and spectacularly delicious results. Pasta just might be the perfect comfort food. Endlessly reinventable, it is a canvas for delicious dreams. And it's well within your reach to make at home, anytime. It can be super simple, like pici in butter: a revelation made from scratch with just four ingredients. Or it can be incredibly special: agnolotti stuffed with braised shallots and Grana Padano, each parcel a gleaming little gift. In Pasta Every Day, Meryl Feinstein has created the world's easiest-to-follow guide to making pasta doughs, shapes, fillings, and sauces. A celebrated pasta instructor, professional pasta maker, and founder of Pasta Social Club, she has years of experience helping thousands of cooks bring the pleasure of fresh pasta home. Step-by-step photos and videos (accessible via QR code) illustrate how to make every shape, eliminating the intimidation surrounding this centuries-old craft. And because Meryl knows just what you need to achieve success, she shows how to recover when something goes wrong and how to make your dishes look as good as they taste. Plus, she shares dozens of sauces to take all kinds of pasta to the next level--including the dry stuff from a box. Combinations include: Winter Squash & Brown Butter Ravioli Cavatelli with Fiery Calabrian Chili Sauce Ricotta Gnocchi with Citrus & Pistachio Pesto Tagliatelle with "Casual Bolognese" Caramelle with Golden Saffron Sauce, and more With modern takes on Italian classics, plus gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan options, this is pasta for today. Or every day.
A Very Chinese Cookbook by
Named a Best Cookbook of 2023 by The New York Times and Serious Eats James Beard Award winner Kevin Pang and his dad Jeffrey, hosts of the hit America's Test Kitchen series Hunger Pangs, show you the way to delicious Chinese cooking in this accessible, funny, heartfelt cookbook. From American Chinese classics (General Tso's Chicken) to Sichuan street foods (Dan Dan Mian) and Hong Kong dim sum favorites (Shu Mai), A Very Chinese Cookbookis ideal for both the Chinese food-curious and experienced cooks seeking a weekend soup dumpling project. Chock full of tips, techniques, stories, and friendly ingredient guides, with over 100 of ATK's trademark rigorous recipes-and even a magic trick with fortune cookies-the cookbook in your hands is very practical, very personal, and very Chinese indeed. Two Generations of Storytelling- Jeffrey recounts a lifelong love of cooking that began in childhood, growing up in Hong Kong, cooking at his mother's side, and exploring the street vendors and markets. Kevin dispenses practical wisdom that brings the recipes to life-why Beef Ho Fun is the mark of a great Cantonese chef; why Shu Mai is the world heavyweight champion of dumplings. Test Kitchen Techniques- From the basics of successful stir-frying to folding methods for Shanghai Soup Dumplings, careful instructions and abundant photos teach key steps. Chinatown Shopping Guide- From choosing the right soy sauce or vinegar to buying fresh noodles and seeking out superlative Buddhist-style chickens, let the Pangs be your trusted guides.
Delivering the Digital Restaurant: The Path to Digital Maturity by 
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Encyclopedia of Kitchen History by 
Bowes and Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used by This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.
