Start by thinking about how you are going to be selling your product:
Selling directly to customers
Sell to retail stores who sell to customers
Sell to distributors who sells to sores who sells to customers
There are also lots of distribution associations in Canada. You will need to identify what industry your product falls within and then a simple Google Search will help you find a related distributor association. See some examples of associations and distributors below:
Searchable database of 60,000 Canadian business profiles. Voluntary registry.
Promotion
The library has tons of information on how to promote products and services on a variety of different areas such as online, Amazon and other retailers. Once you have determined where you would like to promote your business (think about where comparable products and services may be sold) use some of the below options to determine logistics and costs.
The Media Digest provides information about the Canadian media marketplace, with statistics on newspaper, magazine, television, radio, and digital advertising. It also includes information about readership, demographics and regulations related to various types of media.
Price
You will want to look back at the industry information you have researched to get an idea on market share and values. You will need to use that to determine pricing objectives, strategy and price.
"provides a range of up-to-date economic and financial data, including production and shipments for British Columbia's major industries, consumer price index, incorporations and bankruptcies, retail sales, wages, unemployment, work stoppages, stock prices, interest rates, building permits, house prices, transportation, tourism, etc."
Includes citations and abstracts for more than 4,000 scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers. This database will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity. To avoid losing your research, please save your results within that time period. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.
In some cases, certain publishers do not grant certain rights specific to their content. Check content for any restrictions.
License definitions & additional information
COURSEPACKS / ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING. Members and Authorized Users may incorporate a reasonable portion of the Licensed Material in course packs, study packs, resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication) so long as a "hit" is registered on Licensor's on-line platform each time an article is accessed for the CoursePack. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose. Course packs in non-electronic non-print perceptible form, such as Braille, may also be offered to Authorized Users.
CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS to individual articles for access by Authorized Users for Permitted Uses under this Agreement, from within secure authentication environments provided that the product(s) support the ability of such persistent link technology. ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING. Members and Authorized Users may incorporate a reasonable portion of the Licensed Material in course packs, study packs, resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication) so long as a "hit" is registered on Licensor's on-line platform each time an article is accessed for the CoursePack. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN by paper or electronic means, a single copy of an individual document within the guidelines of traditional interlibrary loan practices and applicable copyright laws provided that the loan is not done in a manner or magnitude that would replace the recipient library's own subscription to either the Products or the purchase of the underlying Work (e.g., newspaper, magazine, or book).
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.
