LibGuides: Education Assistant Certificate: Articles + Journals

OCtopus (Library Search Engine)

OCtopus searches the Library's catalogue and many of the Library's databases in one search. Enter keywords in the OCtopus search box on the Library's website

You may Refine your search resuts √ Peer Reviewed & Scholarly or

limit your search results by Resource types √ Academic Journal or

limit your search results by Resource types √ Magazines.

Not sure what are the differences between journals and magazines?

Watch a short video Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals (Peabody Library, Vanderbilt University)

Article Databases

You may want to use specific article databases instead of OCtopus for more targeted searching.

Note: ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Academic Search Premier and PsycINFO are included if you use OCtopus

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database of education-related journals, reports, articles, and curriculum.

Professional Development Collection
Coverage of topics ranging from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice in educational publications

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
In some cases, certain publishers do not grant certain rights specific to their content. Check content for any restrictions.

License definitions & additional information

Permission to include content in coursepacks is NOT included under the terms of this license.

CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS to individual articles for access by Authorized Users for Permitted Uses under this Agreement, from within secure authentication environments. ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING: Members and Authorized Users may incorporate parts of the Licensed Material in resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication). Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgment of the source, listing title and copyright owner.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN by paper or electronic means, a single copy of an individual document within the guidelines of traditional interlibrary loan practices and applicable copyright laws.

PsycINFO
Covers academic journals and edited books on educational and social psychology

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive Canadian database covering current events, policy, business, social issues, science, the arts, and Canadian academic information. Provides full text, back to 1985. Approx. 2/3 titles included are published in Canada, making a good starting point for Canadian research.
Search Tips!
Check "Scholarly Journals" to eliminate popular magazines and newspapers from your search
Wildcards: Use * (asterisk) for truncation and ? (question mark) to replace a single character.
Click "Access OC" to locate articles that do not indicate full text availability.

Canadian Newsstream
Full-text database containing major daily Canadian newspapers including the Globe & Mail, the National Post, & the Vancouver Sun.

Key Journals

Teaching Exceptional Children (online fulltext 2001-current; print issues 1978-2012 in Storage)

Teaching Exceptional Children features research-to-practice information and materials for classroom use, as well as current issues in special education teaching and learning. Published six times per year, TEC also brings its readers the latest data on instructional technologies, strategies, procedures, and techniques with applications to students with exceptionalities. The focus of its practical content is on immediate application.

Focus on Exceptional Children (online fulltext 1994-2012)

Focus on Exceptional Children is a monthly (except June, July and August) newsletter focusing on practice rather than theory and each issue covers in depth a topic of current interest to teachers, special educators, administrators, or others concerned with the education of exceptional children.