LibGuides: Social Work Research Guide: Background Sources

Background Information

After you've chosen a topic to research, you will need to search for information that will introduce you to the topic. Background sources provide you with:

Background & Reference Sources

Also known as background sources, reference sources include:

Encyclopedias (including online sources such as Wikipedia)
Dictionaries
Handbooks
Directories
Manuals, etc.

Reference sources are great for getting started on your research, especially if the topic you are researching is unfamiliar to you. They can be excellent sources of factual information, concepts, theories, definitions, and terminology, and can lead to references to find more sources of information.

Examples of background resources are below:

Turner, F. J. (2005). Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work. Waterloo, ON: Wilfrid Laurier University Press.

Stuart, P. H., & Herrick, J. M. (2005). Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America . Thousand Oaks, Cali: Sage Publications, Inc. 2005.
An e-reference book that provides readers with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America.

The Encyclopedia of Social Work. Oxford Reference. 2008.

The Substance Abuse Handbook by Pedro Ruiz; Eric C. Strain; John G. Langrod
ISBN: 9780781760454
Publication Date: 2007-04-26
The Substance Abuse Handbook succinctly presents the most clinically relevant information from Lowinson, Ruiz, Millman and Langrod's Substance Abuse: A Comprehensive Textbook, Fourth Edition. In a user-friendly format, this portable handbook provides all the information health care professionals need to diagnose and treat addictive disorders and associated medical conditions. Major sections cover etiological factors, substances of abuse, compulsive and addictive behaviors, evaluation and diagnostic classification, treatment modalities, management of associated medical conditions, substance abuse in children, adolescents, and the elderly, women's issues, special groups and settings, models of prevention, training and education, and policy issues.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) (E-book) This link opens in a new window
The authoritative historical dictionary of the English language
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, from the past and the present, in the English language. The online version is based on the 20-volume 2nd edition, and is the ultimate authority on the English language. Words are traced back to their first appearance in the language, with illustrative quotes provided.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks & other reference works in subjects areas such as science, nursing, psychology, sociology and other social sciences, business and languages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Access to online specialized subject encyclopedias and other reference works.
Specialized subject encyclopedias, including: Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics & Philosophy, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Environmental Encyclopedia, Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, & Art, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, and St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.
Canadian Encyclopedia (E-Book) This link opens in a new window
Digital interactive version of The Canadian Encyclopedia
The Canadian Encyclopedia contains more than 35,000 articles in English and French and more than 30,000 multimedia items including images, maps, games, audio and video. The new interactive features include curated content exhibits, interactive timelines, immediate updates of important events and a user-generated content map that invites Canadians to share their stories.