Skip to main content

ENGL 70/80 - Kelowna

MLA Resources

The links on this page will direct you to the guidelines for MLA style. Use them to cite and reference the resources you use.

MLA Tips and Tricks

  • Use the guidelines, and follow them carefully! Some things to pay particular attention to include:
    • Capitalization: what words in the works cited list entry are capitalized, and which are not?
    • Italics: what do you need to italicize?
    • Punctuation: periods, commas, and quotation marks are important!
  • Don't forget the hanging indent in your works cited list. See the guidelines for how this can be done.
  • Make note of page numbers (if they exist for your source). You will need them for in-text citations.
  • If the source you are citing does not have a piece of information (such as author, page numbers, etc.), omit it.

MLA Templates for Common Sources

These are templates for some sources you may need to use for this assignment.

 

Book

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. Title of Book: Sub-title of Book if any. Publisher, year published.

Book (2 authors, specified edition)

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName, and AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName. Title of Book: Sub-title. # ed., Publisher, year published.

Encyclopedia Entry (Library Database / Online)

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, edited by EditorFirstName EditorLastName, edition, publisher, year published. Library Database (if needed), urlpermalink.

Journal Articles from Library Database

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Title of Journal Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, pp. firstpage# - lastpage#. Library Database, doi: xx.xxx/xxx

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Title of Journal Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, pp. firstpage# - lastpage#. Library Database

urlpermalink [eg. ,search-proquest-com....]

News Article from Library Database

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Title of News Article." Title of Newspaper, 22 Nov. 2017, p. pageNumber. Library Database, urlpermalink.

Webpage, Online News Article

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. [if no author, enter as title first] "Title of Page or Article." Title of Website, Publisher of Website, Publication date of article [eg. 2 Feb. 2019], www.urlofwebsite.ca. Accessed date [ eg. 29 Mar. 2019].

Webpage, Online Document from Organization / Government website

Name of Organization or Government Ministry. "Title of Page or PDF document." [Only include organization as name of publisher, if personal names from organization are available as authors. Otherwise do not repeat]. Publication date of page or document [eg. 30 Nov. 2018], www.urlofwebsite.ca. Accessed date [eg. 29 Mar. 2019].

MLA Sample First Page and Works Cited List

(Adapted from the sample paper from OWL Purdue)

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.