Step 3 - Primary Sources - WET 219 - Applied Water Law

Primary Sources

Once you have a basic grasp of the subject area and where your research topic fits in, you can begin to review primary sources, to see if they should be included in your research.

Primary Sources are immediate, first-hand accounts of a topic, from people who had a direct connection with it.

Examples of such resources include legislative and parliamentary debates, legislation and regulations, policy documents, news coverage, regulatory information, public health information, tribunal and court decisions, etc.

Recommended Research Sources

Quicklaw
Resources to support Canadian legal research. Materials covered are statutes, regulations, journal articles, case law, tribunal decisions, and legal commentary.
HeinOnline
A database containing more than 150 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.Provides comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,500 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Parliament of Canada - Hansard
The Hansard Index is the key to information about what is said by Members of Parliament in the House of Commons during the 35th Parliament, 2nd Session. The subject entries will either provide reference to a page number or, a combination of page number followed by the issue sitting number and time checks in the daily Hansard.

To use the Index, select one of the alphabetical ranges below. When you have located your subject entry, click on the numbers within brackets to access the relevant text in the Debates. You may also use the “Publication Search” tool for content published after January 2001.
Legislative Services of British Columbia - Hansard Services
Hansard Services publishes the official reports of the Legislative Assembly and Parliamentary Committees and broadcasts Assembly and Committees proceedings. The transcripts and broadcasts are full, accurate and impartial records of the work of the Members of the Legislative Assembly.
Canada Gazette
The Canada Gazette is the official newspaper of the Government of Canada. Learn about new statutes, new and proposed regulations, administrative board decisions and public notices.
BC Gazette Part I
The BC Gazette is the official newspaper of the Government of British Columbia. Learn about new statutes, new and proposed regulations, administrative board decisions and public notices.
BC Gazette Part II
The BC Gazette is the official newspaper of the Government of British Columbia. Learn about new statutes, new and proposed regulations, administrative board decisions and public notices.