LibGuides: BUAD 123 Management Principles: Finding Resources

Background sources

After you've chosen a topic to research, you will need to search for information that will introduce you to the topic. Background sources provide you with:

Important dates or events
Definitions
Keywords
Introduction to main issues
List of sources to start research

Using Google to start your research process is a good way to get general information quickly. You can use websites, blogs, and Wikipedia to get general ideas about a topic, and to help frame your research strategy.

However, the problem with internet sources is that it's difficult to verify the information. Starting your research on Google is fine, but use the library resources to complete your search!

Tips for using Wikipedia

Use the "Reference" section at the bottom to see where the information came from. These may be quality sources you can use for your research.
Scroll through the page to find key people and concepts (which may be highlighted links). These can be used as search terms and additional exploring.
Use highlighted links to jump to related pages, to help give you a sense of the bigger picture.

Filter results by choosing 'eBooks' and 'Books' as your source type. You can also filter by publication date.

When you find a title you are interested in, click the title. The record will show information about the book's location and its availability. If it's an eBook, you will see ONLINE on the location.

Business News

OC Library subscribes to a number of newspapers and magazines in print and electronic formats including The Kelowna Daily Courier, Vancouver Sun, Globe and Mail, and B.C. Business.

Using the Library to access these sources means you won't be stopped by paywalls and can access articles that are otherwise for subscribers only!

Canadian Major Dailies
Coverage from 1985-Present. Articles from the major Canadian newspapers including the National Post, the Globe & Mail, Times Colonist, Montreal Gazette, and the Vancouver Sun. Usually a 2-7 day delay in newspaper article updates.
This database will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity. To avoid losing your research, please save your results within that time period. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
A comprehensive Canadian database covering current events, policy, business, social issues, science, the arts, and Canadian academic information. Provides full text, back to 1985. Approx. 2/3 titles included are published in Canada, making a good starting point for Canadian research.
Search Tips!
Check "Scholarly Journals" to eliminate popular magazines and newspapers from your search
Wildcards: Use * (asterisk) for truncation and ? (question mark) to replace a single character.
Click "Access OC" to locate articles that do not indicate full text availability.

You can use databases to search a variety of newspapers at once, or you can go directly to a paper to either browse by date, or search for a particular topic within that paper

Globe and Mail
Financial Times
Online May 1996 - current (delayed 1 month).
Toronto Star
Online May 1985 - current.
The Vancouver Sun
Microform: Kelowna Jan. 1981 – Dec. 1999.
Online January 1987 - current (delayed 1 day).
Wall Street Journal
Available from Jan 8, 2010
The Economist

Latest news from the Harvard Business Review online. Visit http://hbr.org/ to get the latest news from the Harvard Business Review's blog network.

Articles

OCtopus
Google Scholar

Search for peer-reviewed articles using the OCtopus Search Box below.

BUAD 123 Management Principles