In what industry does your product or service exist?
Analyze the industry in which your company will exist. Consider things like:
what factors will determine whether you will succeed or fail?
what is the potential for growth and profitability?
what trends and changes are upcoming/occurring in the industry?
Information on Industries and products or services can be found in journal, newspaper, or trade magazine articles; industry, product, and company profiles; market research reports; SWOT analyses and more.
NAICS Code
One of the first things to do is figure out your NAICS code.
The North American Industry Classification System was designed to provide common definitions of industries. Figuring out your NAICS code(s) can help you:
find government statistics about your industry
find information about your competitors
search in some business databases
TIP: Many companies do not fit neatly into one category, and will use more than one code! Try several codes during your research
Step 1: Find your NAICS Code
Find your NAICS code using NAICS Canada 2022 Version 1.0. If you can't find a code, you may also wish to try NAICS 2017.
Collection of industry research reports and related information. Includes Canadian industry reports (NAICS) and industry iExpert summaries. Includes US industry reports (NAICS), industry iExpert summaries, specialised industry reports, and specialized industry iExpert summaries.
In your search results use the Document Type limiter on the left side of the page to pick "Industry Reports". Search these databases for articles as well, using words that describe the industry and other terms that describe the type of information that you are looking for (examples: market research, statistics, etc.)
In some cases, certain publishers do not grant certain rights specific to their content. Check content for any restrictions.
License definitions & additional information
COURSEPACKS / ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING. Members and Authorized Users may incorporate a reasonable portion of the Licensed Material in course packs, study packs, resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication) so long as a "hit" is registered on Licensor's on-line platform each time an article is accessed for the CoursePack. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose. Course packs in non-electronic non-print perceptible form, such as Braille, may also be offered to Authorized Users.
CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS to individual articles for access by Authorized Users for Permitted Uses under this Agreement, from within secure authentication environments provided that the product(s) support the ability of such persistent link technology. ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING. Members and Authorized Users may incorporate a reasonable portion of the Licensed Material in course packs, study packs, resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication) so long as a "hit" is registered on Licensor's on-line platform each time an article is accessed for the CoursePack. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN by paper or electronic means, a single copy of an individual document within the guidelines of traditional interlibrary loan practices and applicable copyright laws provided that the loan is not done in a manner or magnitude that would replace the recipient library's own subscription to either the Products or the purchase of the underlying Work (e.g., newspaper, magazine, or book).
Limit search to "Industry Profile" or browse "Industry Profile" category. Search these databases for articles as well, using words that describe the industry and other terms that describe the type of information that you are looking for (examples: market research, statistics, etc.)
With a team of over 450 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.
Business-related organizations and associations may publish information trelated to your research. Here are some examples of associations:
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.
