LibGuides: CMNS 137 Technical Communication for Water Engineering Technology: Background Sources

Background Information

After you've chosen a topic to research, you will need to search for information that will introduce you to the topic. Background sources provide you with:

General Encyclopedias

AccessEngineering
A collection of more than 250 handbooks and other online reference sources in engineering. Disciplines of engineering covered include Chemical, Civil, Electrical, Environmental, and Mechanical.
AccessScience
A searchable version of the latest McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Specialized subject encyclopedias, including: Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics & Philosophy, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Environmental Encyclopedia, Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, & Art, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, and St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.

Canadian Encyclopedia (E-Book) This link opens in a new window
Digital interactive version of The Canadian Encyclopedia
The Canadian Encyclopedia contains more than 35,000 articles in English and French and more than 30,000 multimedia items including images, maps, games, audio and video. The new interactive features include curated content exhibits, interactive timelines, immediate updates of important events and a user-generated content map that invites Canadians to share their stories.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) (E-book) This link opens in a new window
The authoritative historical dictionary of the English language
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, from the past and the present, in the English language. The online version is based on the 20-volume 2nd edition, and is the ultimate authority on the English language. Words are traced back to their first appearance in the language, with illustrative quotes provided.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks & other reference works in subjects areas such as science, nursing, psychology, sociology and other social sciences, business and languages.