DSCI 321 - Health Analytics Library Research Guide

Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.

Cochrane is known for its high-quality information, used globally to make health decisions. Cochrane does not accept commercial or conflicted funding.

Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading dictionary offers clear and authoritative definitions for all aspects of medical science. It features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine, medical research and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology, cardiology and radiology, among other specialist areas. This new edition has been revised and updated to reflect advancements in medical research and practice, while over 250 new entries have been added, including American Medical Association, burden of treatment, gaming disorder, MERS, person-centred care, and Zika virus. Recommended web links and detailed illustrations complement the text, and extensive appendices offer useful lists and tables on areas such as inherited medical conditions, units of alcohol, and abbreviations and symbols.Selling over a million copies in previous editions, this is an essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied professions, including nurses, pharmacists, physiotherapists, social workers, hospital administrators, and medical secretaries. It is also an invaluable home reference guide for the general reader.

This brand new Dictionary of Biomedicine includes 10,000 A-Z entries on all areas of biomedicine. Entries are authoritative and wide-ranging, covering terms from the related areas of anatomy, genetics, molecular bioscience, pathology, pharmacology, and clinical medicine. Biomedicine - the study of molecular bioscience relating to disease - is playing an increasingly important role in medical application, diagnosis, and treatment. As molecular bioscience provides greater insights and techniques than ever before into the practice of modern medicine, there is an increasing need for an affordable dictionary covering the specialist language used within this evolving field. This dictionary fills this need by offering clear, concise definitions of even the most complex biomedical terms. Many entries feature recommended web links which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Biomedicine companion webpage, and supplementary material includes the Greek Alphabet, SI Units and single letter codes for Amino Acids. Fully cross-referenced, it also features useful naviagational entries for types of diseases and disorders - for example renal disorders - that list all related entries in the dictionary so the reader can find them quickly. Aimed primarily at molecular bioscientists, clinicians, and students of biomedical courses, the dictionary will also be an invaluable resource for patients and journalists wishing to find out more about a particular disease.

This sixth edition of A Dictionary of Epidemiology -- the most updated since its inception -- reflects the profound substantive and methodological changes that have come to characterize epidemiology and its associated disciplines. Sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association, this book remains the essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required. More than just a dictionary, this text is an essential guidebook to the state of the science. It offers the most current, authoritative definitions of terms central to biomedical and public health literature -- everything from confounding and incidence rate to epigenetic inheritance and Number Needed to Treat. As epidemiology continues to change and grow, A Dictionary of Epidemiology will remain its book of record.

This dictionary covers terms used in public health science and practice, including areas such as communicable disease control, epidemiology, genetics, nutrition, toxicology, social work, sanitation and public health engineering, environmental sciences, and administration. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health.

This six-volume set presents important research on nursing. Some of the topics discussed herein include: advanced practice nursing; the nursing workforce; nurse practitioners; physician assistants; certification and licensure; psychiatric-mental health nursing; rehabilitation; nursing education and nursing students; bioengineering nursing; immunisation for healthcare workers.

ERIC Notebook was published as an e-periodical from 1999-2008 by the Epidemiologic Research and Information Center (ERIC) at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Durham, NC, in collaboration with the Department of Epidemiology at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health. Its aim was to provide education in epidemiological methods as well as content areas of special significance to Veterans Administration clinicians, researchers, and administrators as needs apply. Issues were updated and re-published in 2014-15.

For many years, the American Psychiatric Glossary has been the standard reference for psychiatrists, residents, psychiatric social workers, and other mental health professionals. Last published 8 years ago, it enjoyed unparalleled dominance in the mental health market. Now comes The Language of Mental Health: A Glossary of Psychiatric Terms, which is designed not only to replace its predecessor but also to improve upon its offerings and bring the content firmly into the twenty-first century. This comprehensive, user-friendly reference boasts an abundance of features, both time-tested and new, as follows: * The number of Glossary definitions has been increased by 25%, and coverage has been expanded to include terms specific to newer psychiatric subspecialties, such as geriatric psychiatry, addiction psychiatry, psychosomatic medicine, and child and adolescent psychiatry.* The section on "Medications Used in Psychiatry" is expanded and up to date. Medications are organized by drug class (e.g., antidepressants), subclass (e.g., selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors), trade name (e.g., Prozac), and generic name (e.g., fluoxetine).* The section on "Psychiatric Measures" is robust and detailed. For example, the entry under "Neuropsychiatric Measures for Cognitive Disorders" lists nearly a dozen assessments, along with their acronyms or abbreviations.* The section on "Mental Health Resources" includes vital descriptions and current contact information for dozens of organizations. The Web addresses are especially useful for those seeking immediate assistance or access to information. Although the reference maintains the level of theoretical, diagnostic, and therapeutic accuracy one would expect from a book for clinicians, it will also prove useful to advocacy groups, attorneys, and mental health patients and their families. Compact enough to slip into a pocket or briefcase, yet substantial enough to withstand frequent consultations and extended study, The Language of Mental Health is a worthy successor to the American Psychiatric Glossary and is the only reference of its caliber and completeness on the market.

Basic Elements of a Medical Word -- Suffixes -- Prefixes -- Body Structure -- Integumentary System -- Digestive System -- Respiratory System -- Cardiovascular System -- Blood, Lymphatic, and Immune Systems -- Musculoskeletal System -- Urinary System -- Female Reproductive System -- Male Reproductive System -- Endocrine System -- Nervous System -- Special Senses -- Appendix A: Answer Key -- Appendix B: Common Abbreviation and Symbols -- Appendix C: Glossary of Medical Word Elements -- Appendix D: Index of Genetic Disorders -- Appendix E: Index of Clinical, Laboratory, and Imagining Procedures -- Appendix F: Index of Pharmacology -- Appendix G: Index of Oncological Terms -- Appendix H: Index of Discontinued Abbreviations and Eponyms.

Back by popular demand: the world's most widely-used medical reference, now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy has been thoroughly updated and expanded with a larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content, including 36 new chapters with more than 200 tables and 100 figures. Packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, this comprehensive guide was written by a team of renowned medical experts. It is intended for everyday use by healthcare professionals to ensure delivery of the best care to their patients. The new Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy makes it easy to find the right information at the moment it's needed, with the help of section thumb tabs. It is a must-have for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals. New larger trim 7 3/4 x 9 1/4 to accommodate 40% new content 36 completely new chapters Revised and expanded chapters in Cardiovascular, Genitourinary, Gynecologic, Neurologic, Pregnancy, and Infants and Children Pediatrics and trauma section significantly revised and expanded Key Points summarize the facts at-a-glance New Pearls & Pitfalls highlight noteworthy medical info and areas of caution 16-page full-color insert aids visual recognition of skin, eye, and oral disorders

Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 10th Edition This one-stop reference includes detailed entries that help you communicate more effectively with colleagues in various disciplines. With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases, it is an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike.Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care.More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts.Strict, common-sense alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions.Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your health career. NEW Approximately 5,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology.NEW Completely updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.