LibGuides: PSYC 111 005: Introduction to Psychology: Basic Processes: GenAI

Generative Pre-trained Transformer (GPT)

The concept of 'Artificial Intelligence' (AI) is not new. The idea was originally proposed by mathematician and pioneer computer scientist Alan Turing in the 1940s. One of Turing's biggest contributions to the field was the creation of the "Turing Test," originally named the 'imitation game' developed in the 1950s. It was designed to test a computer's ability to "exhibit intelligent behaviour equivalent to, or indistinguishable from, that of a human." The test was first passed by a computer system in 2014.

AI is not a single technology but a diverse but interrelated group of technologies.

You will have to work harder if you use GenAI Tools.

Hutson, M. (2024). How does ChatGPT “think”? Psychology and neuroscience crack open AI large language models. Nature, 629(8014), 986–988. https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-024-01314-y
The latest wave of AI relies heavily on machine learning, in which software identifies patterns in data on its own, without being given any predetermined rules as to how to organize or classify the information. These patterns can be inscrutable to humans. The most advanced machine-learning systems use neural networks: software inspired by the architecture of the brain. They simulate layers of neurons, which transform information as it passes from layer to layer. As in human brains, these networks strengthen and weaken neural connections as they learn, but it’s hard to see why certain connections are affected. As a result, researchers often talk about AI as ‘ black boxes ’, the inner workings of which are a mystery.
More about this database...less...
This article has been cited in the health science literature more than 2,800 times.

Metadata for constructing APA 7 citation:

Davenport, T., & Kalakota, R. (2019). The potential for artificial intelligence in healthcare. Future healthcare journal, 6(2), 94–98. https://doi.org/10.7861/futurehosp.6-2-94

ChatGPT For Dummies by Baker, Pam
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9798855505634
Publication Date: 2023
ChatGPT For Dummies demystifies the artificial intelligence tool that can answer questions, write essays, and generate just about any kind of text it's asked for. This powerful example of generative AI is widely predicted to upend education and business. In this book, you'll learn how ChatGPT works and how you can operate it in a way that yields satisfactory results. You'll also explore the ethics of using AI-generated content for various purposes. Written by a journalist who's been on the front lines of artificial intelligence for over a decade, this book dives deep into ChatGPT's potential, so you can make informed decisions-without asking ChatGPT for help.

Metadata to use in creating a APA 7 citation:

Baker, P. (2023). ChatGPT for dummies. Tantor Media, Inc. https://research.ebsco.com/c/2spsko/search/details/s73o3bjgvb?limiters=FT1:Y&q=Generative%20ai%20for%20dummies

Safari Tech Books Online
Digital books on topics ranging from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. Content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos and much more.

The real skill you will need to use GenAI is knowing how to Prompt (explain) to the system what you want it to do.

This will take:

Time
- To learn to write prompts that provide the information you need
- You may have to run multiple iterations of your query.
- Then, you will have to develop a research plan to identify and properly cite the information provided by the GenAI response.
- You will need an above-average knowledge of medical and healthcare words and terminology to get proper value from using GenAI,
Money
- The free versions of most GenAI applications are 'loss leaders' and are designed to interest you. For example, ChatGPT3 is free but limits you to the number of Prompts you can submit daily.
- ChatGPT4 is a fee based service
- The cost of using a GenAI applications total rest with the user
Using PICO(T) will help with writing better GenAI Prompts

Writing AI Prompts for Dummies by Stephanie Diamond; Jeffrey Allan
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781394244669
Publication Date: 2024-05-07
Learn the art of writing effective AI prompts and break into an exciting new career field Unlock the full power of generative AI with Writing AI Prompts For Dummies, a comprehensive guide that will teach you how to confidently write effective AI prompts. Whether it's text, images, or even videos and music you're aiming to create, this book provides the foundational knowledge and practical strategies needed to produce impressive results. Embark on a journey of discovery with Writing AI Prompts For Dummies and learn how to: Craft AI prompts that produce the most powerful results. Navigate the complexities of different AI platforms with ease. Generate a diverse range of content, from compelling narratives to stunning visuals. Refine AI-generated output to perfection and integrate that output effectively into your business or project. This resource is brimming with expert guidance and will help you write AI prompts that achieve your objectives. Whether you're a marketer, educator, artist, or entrepreneur, Writing AI Prompts For Dummies is your indispensable guide for leveraging AI to its fullest potential. Get ready to harness the power of artificial intelligence and spark a revolution in your creative and professional efforts.

GenAI hallucination is a phenomenon in which the large language model (LLM)—often a generative model—is inaccurate or made up.

The College of Health and Care Professionals of BC regulates psychologists in B.C. The Canadian Psychological Association issued a briefing paper on Artificial Intelligence in January 2024,

GenAI uses LLMs that are designed to predict the next best possible word based on their training data set; there is always the possibility of bias in the results produced by GenAI tools due to the inherent bias in the data used to build it. You should constantly closely scrutinize any results from GenAI for potential bias in the text it provides you.

REMEMBER GENAI HAS BEEN PRIMARILY TRAINED ON DATA FROM THE WEB

Bias to be aware of:

Under-representation of specific people or groups
Discrimination
Misinformation and Disinformation
Denialism
Plagiarization
Research Fraud
Self citation

As a general rule of thumb, never upload any personal information to a Gen AI tool.

In B.C., the collection, use, disclosure, and retention of personal information are subject to and must comply with the provisions of the BC Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA).

Always be aware that patient information and data must be private and confidential. Access to and the use of such information is governed by legislative statute and regulation in BC known as E-Health (Personal Health Information Access and Protection of Privacy) Act.

Never upload any information from OC Library databases to an Artificial Intelligence system. Doing so may expose you to legal repercussions.

Balancing confidentiality and care coordination: challenges in patient privacy
Digital technology has significantly transformed healthcare, enhancing care coordination and improving patient outcomes. However, this transformation brings forth critical challenges, particularly in balancing the imperatives of confidentiality and efficient care coordination. Nurses play a pivotal role in balancing confidentiality and care coordination in the digital age, acting as guardians of patient privacy and critical facilitators of information sharing. Their unique position on the front lines of patient care requires them to navigate complex ethical and practical challenges.
More about this database...less...
Metadata for creating your APA 7 citation:

Ibrahim, A. M., Abdel-Aziz, H. R., Mohamed, H. A. H., Zaghamir, D. E. F., Wahba, N. M. I., Hassan, G. A., Shaban, M., EL-Nablaway, M., Aldughmi, O. N., & Aboelola, T. H. (2024). Balancing confidentiality and care coordination: challenges in patient privacy. BMC Nursing, 23(1), 1–14. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12912-024-02231-1

APA Guidence of Citing the use of AI in your Paper

PSYC 111 005: Introduction to Psychology: Basic Processes

Generative Pre-trained Transformer (GPT)

AI is not a single technology but a diverse but interrelated group of technologies.

You will have to work harder if you use GenAI Tools.

The real skill you will need to use GenAI is knowing how to Prompt (explain) to the system what you want it to do.

This will take:

Time

To learn to write prompts that provide the information you need

You may have to run multiple iterations of your query.

Then, you will have to develop a research plan to identify and properly cite the information provided by the GenAI response.

You will need an above-average knowledge of medical and healthcare words and terminology to get proper value from using GenAI,

Money

The free versions of most GenAI applications are 'loss leaders' and are designed to interest you. For example, ChatGPT3 is free but limits you to the number of Prompts you can submit daily.

ChatGPT4 is a fee based service

The cost of using a GenAI applications total rest with the user

Using PICO(T) will help with writing better GenAI Prompts

GenAI hallucination is a phenomenon in which the large language model (LLM)—often a generative model—is inaccurate or made up.

The College of Health and Care Professionals of BC regulates psychologists in B.C. The Canadian Psychological Association issued a briefing paper on Artificial Intelligence in January 2024,

REMEMBER GENAI HAS BEEN PRIMARILY TRAINED ON DATA FROM THE WEB

Bias to be aware of:

Under-representation of specific people or groups

Discrimination

Misinformation and Disinformation

Denialism

Plagiarization

Research Fraud

Self citation

As a general rule of thumb, never upload any personal information to a Gen AI tool.

In B.C., the collection, use, disclosure, and retention of personal information are subject to and must comply with the provisions of the BC Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA).

Always be aware that patient information and data must be private and confidential. Access to and the use of such information is governed by legislative statute and regulation in BC known as E-Health (Personal Health Information Access and Protection of Privacy) Act.

Never upload any information from OC Library databases to an Artificial Intelligence system. Doing so may expose you to legal repercussions.