Coverage from 1985-Present. Articles from the major Canadian newspapers including the National Post, the Globe & Mail, Times Colonist, Montreal Gazette, and the Vancouver Sun. Usually a 2-7 day delay in newspaper article updates.
This database will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity. To avoid losing your research, please save your results within that time period. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.
Full access to 23 years of CBC News video and audio archives. Archive version is available here.
Internet browsers Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer v. 9 or higher are recommended for viewing videos.
A comprehensive Canadian database covering current events, policy, business, social issues, science, the arts, and Canadian academic information. Provides full text, back to 1985. Approx. 2/3 titles included are published in Canada, making a good starting point for Canadian research.
Search Tips!
Check "Scholarly Journals" to eliminate popular magazines and newspapers from your search
Wildcards: Use * (asterisk) for truncation and ? (question mark) to replace a single character.
Click "Access OC" to locate articles that do not indicate full text availability.
The first national Indigenous broadcaster in the world, their mission is "to share our Peoples’ journey, celebrate our cultures, inspire our children and honour the wisdom of our Elders.”
IndigiNews was created through a partnership between Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) and The Discourse. Goals: to provide journalism that serves and is driven by what local communities say they want; and to experiment with new business models for digital local news that contribute to the long-term sustainability of independent Indigenous news in Canada.
A quarterly magazine, published by the Communications department of the Tribal Council, a resource of knowledge for all Northern Secwépemc te Qelmucw people. A meeting place of ideas, Secwepemctsín language, upcoming events, traditional knowledge and Treaty news & events.
Canada's only national native weekly newspaper, published every week at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario, complemented by a growing online version.
Owned and operated by the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta, an Indigenous communications society dedicated to serving the news and information needs of Indigenous people throughout Canada.
Includes citations and abstracts for more than 4,000 scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers. This database will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity. To avoid losing your research, please save your results within that time period. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.
In some cases, certain publishers do not grant certain rights specific to their content. Check content for any restrictions.
License definitions & additional information
COURSEPACKS / ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING. Members and Authorized Users may incorporate a reasonable portion of the Licensed Material in course packs, study packs, resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication) so long as a "hit" is registered on Licensor's on-line platform each time an article is accessed for the CoursePack. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose. Course packs in non-electronic non-print perceptible form, such as Braille, may also be offered to Authorized Users.
CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS to individual articles for access by Authorized Users for Permitted Uses under this Agreement, from within secure authentication environments provided that the product(s) support the ability of such persistent link technology. ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING. Members and Authorized Users may incorporate a reasonable portion of the Licensed Material in course packs, study packs, resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication) so long as a "hit" is registered on Licensor's on-line platform each time an article is accessed for the CoursePack. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN by paper or electronic means, a single copy of an individual document within the guidelines of traditional interlibrary loan practices and applicable copyright laws provided that the loan is not done in a manner or magnitude that would replace the recipient library's own subscription to either the Products or the purchase of the underlying Work (e.g., newspaper, magazine, or book).
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 journals, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
In some cases, certain publishers do not grant certain rights specific to their content. Check content for any restrictions.
License definitions & additional information
Permission to include content in coursepacks is NOT included under the terms of this license.
CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS to individual articles for access by Authorized Users for Permitted Uses under this Agreement, from within secure authentication environments. ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING: Members and Authorized Users may incorporate parts of the Licensed Material in resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication). Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgment of the source, listing title and copyright owner.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN by paper or electronic means, a single copy of an individual document within the guidelines of traditional interlibrary loan practices and applicable copyright laws.
Single-point access to Gale’s ever-growing collection of historical newspapers and periodicals — currently more than 12 million digitized facsimile pages from newspapers and periodicals around the world. Explore over 400 years of British newspapers and 19th century US newspapers.
Choose the Publications List (top of screen) for a specific newspaper or Browse by Location. Search across newspapers using keywords, and limit by date or publication title on the left side of the screen.
WSJ is the largest newspaper in the US, by circulation. It primarily covers American economic and international business topics, and financial news and issues. WSJ has won over 30 Pulitzer Prizes, including their reportage on AIDS (1997), 9/11 (2002) and backdated stock options for business executives (2007).
Data about Government of Canada services;financials;national demographic information or high resolution maps. Learn what open data is;how to get the most out of it;and explore the principles that are guiding the Government of Canadas Open Data initiatives. Learn more about how to use a variety of data formats;including Application Programming Interfaces (APIs).
Free public access to the current laws of British Columbia. This unofficial current consolidation of BC Statutes and Regulations is updated continually as new and amended laws come into force.
A free searchable database of digitised versions of the debates of the Senate and the House of Commons. The Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada portal includes all debates from Parliament 1, Session 1 (1867) until coverage on parl.gc.ca begins.
Court Services Online (CSO) is an initiative of the Court Services Branch of the Ministry of Attorney General and the British Columbia Judiciary. There is a service fee to access Provincial and Supreme Civil Court Files and Court of Appeal Files, but you can view Provincial Traffic and Criminal Court files with no cost.
A comprehensive, authoritative online resource that provides unrestricted access to BC statistics, including Business Indicators, Census Profiles, Consumer Price Index, Earnings & Employment Trends, Area Profiles, Immigration, Labour Force, Quarterly Regional Statistics, and Tourism.
Statistical topics include: Aboriginal peoples, business and industry, census data, economics, the environment, exports and imports, labour and income, mapping and geography, population and demographics, regional information, and social statistics.
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. They have the provincial government's largest concentration of statistical products, services and expertise.
Publications that can be found on this site include:
Current Statistics (latest issues)
Business Indicators (latest issues)
Consumer Price Index (Victoria) (latest issues)
Exports (BC Origin)
Tourism Sector Monitor
Earnings & Employment Trends (latest issues)
Labour Force Statistics (Victoria) (latest issues)
Population Highlights
Small Business Quarterly
Quarterly Regional Statistics
DataBC is helps you find data, services, applications and tools to help you find information to make informed decisions, inspire change or develop ideas to improve government policies. DataBC gives you access to data from across the Province. You can use the geographic services to help map the data and find tools to help conduct research, analyze statistics, develop apps or satisfy your curiosity.
Statistics Canada provides statistics relating to Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture.
Statistics Canada is Canada's National Statistics Agency producing statistics on Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture. In Canada, providing statistics is a federal responsibility. As Canada's central statistical agency, Statistics Canada is legislated to serve this function for the whole of Canada and each of the provinces. In addition to conducting a Census every five years, there are about 350 active surveys on virtually all aspects of Canadian life and daily updates about new statistical products.
With a team of over 450 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.
