Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 journals, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
In some cases, certain publishers do not grant certain rights specific to their content. Check content for any restrictions.
License definitions & additional information
Permission to include content in coursepacks is NOT included under the terms of this license.
CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS to individual articles for access by Authorized Users for Permitted Uses under this Agreement, from within secure authentication environments. ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING: Members and Authorized Users may incorporate parts of the Licensed Material in resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication). Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgment of the source, listing title and copyright owner.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN by paper or electronic means, a single copy of an individual document within the guidelines of traditional interlibrary loan practices and applicable copyright laws.
The ACM Digital Library provides access to all ACM journals and magazines online, as well as conference proceedings; more than 750,000 pages of downloadable text. In addition, it provides access to non-ACM journals and proceedings available from affiliated organizations, such as the Computing Research Repository (CoRR).
Computer Database provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Digital books on topics ranging from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. Content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos and much more.
Mobile app available here. The app icon is red with the letters O'R. Use myOkanagan username & password to login.
*ACCESS NOTE: If you encounter problems accessing content, try clearing your cache or switching to your browser's incognito or safe browsing mode.
Privacy Notice: OC Library provides access to Safari Books Online for your convenience. Use of Safari Books Online at OC is voluntary. Be advised that any personal information you disclose to Safari Books Online is stored on US-based servers. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide to Safari Books Online. You may wish to review the O'Reilly privacy policy before using the database.
A library guide from Penn State University explains what conference proceedings are, and reasons to use them.
Scholarly, Popular or Trade
Many research papers require scholarly journal articles as sources. Do you know what they are and how to differentiate them from popular and trade magazine articles? Check out the comparison table below to learn more about the differences between scholarly, popular and trade publications.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.
