LibGuides: Kinesiology: Fitness Assessment & Exercise Prescription

The resources on this page are related to topics covered in HKIN 103 (Exercise Prescription for Health), HKIN 203 (Science of Strength and Conditioning) and HKIN 273 (Fitness Testing & Prescription).

Highlighted Books

ACSM's Fitness Assessment Manual

Penticton Circulating Collection

RC683.5 .E94 F586 2021

Strength and Conditioning in Sports: From Science to Practice

Penticton Circulating Collection

RC 1235 .S75 2023

Advanced Fitness Assessment & Exercise Prescription

Penticton Circulating Collection

GV 436 .H48 2019

Physical Activity Assessment: a Lifecourse Approach

Penticton Circulating Collection

GV 436 .I56 2020

Performance Assessment in Strength and Conditioning

Penticton Circulating Collection

GV 436 .P47 2019

Assessments for Sport and Athletic Performance

Penticton Circulating Collection

GV 436.5 .F84 2019

Key Journals

Journal of Applied Physiology
A peer reviewed journal that publishes original papers on diverse areas of research in applied physiology. Full text available for articles over 12 months old.
Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise
The official journal of the American College of Sports Medicine. Available through OC Library. Full text available 1996 to present.

Web Resources

Canadian Fitness & Lifestyle Research Institute
CFLRI is a national research agency concerned with educating Canadians about the importance of leading healthy, active lifestyles. Current information about various forms of physical activity in Canada.
National Strength and Conditioning Association
A nonprofit association dedicated to advancing the strength and conditioning and related sport science professions around the world.
National Athletic Trainers Association
The National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession.

Government Resources

Government of Canada Healthy Living: Physical Activity. A guide with links to several Government of Canada Initiatives.

Canada's Physical Activity Guides - guides to help people make good choices about physical activity and health. Includes guides for children, youth, adults, and older adults.