LibGuides: Kinesiology: Sport/Exercise Psychology & Behaviour Change

The resources on this page are related to topics covered in HKIN 150 (Sport & Exercise Psychology) and HKIN 250 (Introduction to Health Behaviour Change).

Background Sources

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by Irving B. Weiner (Editor); W. Edward Craighead (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2010
Up-to-date and extensive coverage of the field of psychology. This reference work covers topics such as biological psychology and neuroscience, DSM diagnoses and psychopathological conditions, psychological and psychopharmacological treatment methods, psychological tests, scales, and assessment methods, developmental processes, research methods, psychological societies and organizations, & biographical entries on over 600 influential psychologists

Highlighted Books

Performing under Pressure by Josephine Perry
Call Number: GV 706.4 .P4728 2020
ISBN: 9780367333171
Publication Date: 2020
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection
Sport Psychology by Catherine Sanderson
Call Number: GV 706.4 .S26 2017
ISBN: 9780199917440
Publication Date: 2017
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection
Sport and exercise psychology: a Canadian perspective by Peter R.E. Crocker (editor)
Call Number: GV 706.4 .S67 2016
ISBN: 9780133573916
Publication Date: 2016
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection
Head in the Game by Brandon Sneed
Call Number: GV 706.4 .S575 2017
ISBN: 9780062455932
Publication Date: 2017
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection
Mind Games: determination, doubt and lucky socks : an insider's guide to the psychology of elite athletes by Annie Vernon
Call Number: GV 706.4 .V47 2019
ISBN: 9781472949103
Publication Date: 2019
Location: online

Key Journals

Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology
International Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology
Covers empirical and theoretical studies in the science of physical activity, human movement, exercise and sport.

Web Resources

Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport
Information on Canadian Anti-Doping Program, Fair Play, and more.
Canadian Society for Psychomotor Learning and Sport Psychology (SCAPPS)
Association for Applied Sport Psychology (AASP)
International Society of Sport Psychology (ISSP)