Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BSN Year One & Two Nursing

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.

Consult the print version of the APA style manual in your campus library's Reference Collection for more in-depth information:
BF 76.7 .P83 2020

OC Library's APA Citation Style Resources

APA Style Examples from APA - Comprehensive list of online examples from APA

APA Style Guide from Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)

The APA manual is the official style guides published by the American Psychological Association. Copies of the manual are available in the Library and the Bookstore. APA is the reference system for psychology, business, and health disciplines.

In-text Citation (Generic Example)

Reference List Citation (Generic Example)

(Author(s), date) Surname, first initial. (date). Title. Source Title. Publication specific details.

Have you seen the online APA Citation tutorial?

OC Library APA Style Guide

  • Short guide to APA citation
  • Common examples & basic citation rules
  • Follows 2020 APA Publication Manual, 7th ed.
PDF version

APA uses an author-date citation format (ie. Smith, 2010)

Regardless of the resource you are citing, you will likely need an author, date, title, source, and specific format information (such as a volume number, page numbers, a URL, publisher, etc.).

The information required for your citation will depend on what you are citing (book, journal article, report, etc.) and the format (print, online).

What is a DOI and when do I need one? This APA flowchart walks you through the steps of finding a DOI, and when to use the journal or publisher home page URL instead. CrossRef offers a DOI look-up tool. Copy and paste portions of your citation and it will find the DOI if available. 

Specific APA Citation Examples for Nursing

Please note that 2nd line of APA reference needs to be hanging. Due to formatting issues, we aren't able to display it. But you can see what hanging references look like in our APA guide

For more tips on APA, please check out OC Library's APA Citation (7th edition) guide and/or contact your liasion librarian 

Note: Include DOI information for eBooks. If there is no DOI and the book is from a library database, do not include a URL (APA, 2020, section 9.30). If the book is from the web, include a URL.

Clinical Practice References


Online Book (E-Book)

If the ebook is from an academic research database and has no DOI or stable URL, end the book reference after the publisher name. Do not include the name of the database in the reference. The reference in this case is the same as for a print book.

Pinkzuk, J. Z., & Dunham-Taylor, J. (2015). Financial management for nurse managers: Merging the heart with the dollar (3rd ed.). Taylor and Francis. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000168-000

In-text: (Pinkzuk & Dunham-Taylor, 2015)


Chapter from an Edited Book (such as a textbook)

Print: Author, A. A. (year). Title of chapter or essay in book. In D. Editor, E. Editor, & F. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. essay page range in book). Publisher Name.

Online: Author(s) of article. (Year of publication). Title of article. In Name of editor(s) (Ed.), Title of encyclopedia (Edition, Page numbers). DOI (or cite as print article if no DOI)

Rasmusson, A. M., & Friedman, M. J. (2002). Gender issues in the neurobiology of PTSD. In R. Kimerling, P. Ouimette, & J. Wolfe (Eds.), Gender and PTSD (pp. 43-75). The Guilford Press. 

In-Text: (Rasmusson & Friedman, 2002)

Sweller, J. (2005). Implications of cognitive load theory for multimedia learning. In R. E. Mayer (Ed.), The Cambridge handbook of multimedia learning (pp. 19-30). https://doi....

OR No DOI

Sweller, J. (2005). Implications of cognitive load theory for multimedia learning. In R. E. Mayer (Ed.), The Cambridge handbook of multimedia learning (pp. 19-30). 

In-text: (Sweller, 2005)


Online Encyclopedia Article

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of chapter or entry. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx–xxx). URL or DOI

Dictionary/Definition

Known author: Graham, G. (2005). Behaviorism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Fall 2007 ed.). http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/behaviorism/

In-text: (Graham, 2005)

Etzkowitz, H., & Dzisah, J. (2009). University–industry relationships. In J.B. Callicott & R. Froderman (Eds.), Encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophy (Vol.2, pp. 344-346). 

In-text: (Etzkowitz & Dzisah, 2009)

Unknown author and no DOI: Landscape gardening. (2004). In K. Barber (Ed.), The Canadian Oxford dictionary (2nd ed.). 

If this was retrieved from the Library's Oxford Reference Online database, you should conduct a Google search to find the generic database home page, rather than including, Oxford Reference Online database.  

In-text: ("Landscape Gardening," 2004)


CINAHL Nursing Guide/Patient Information Sheet from Nursing Reference Center Database

These information sheets often do not have page numbers, in which case include the paragraph number or section heading (if there are no page numbers) placed in brackets at the end of the sentence. 

Author, a. & Author, B. (Date). Title of article in sentence case. Title of Source/Publication in Italics. https://doi... OR Retrieved from http://Web address (use the database permalink)

DeVesty, G. B. M. (2018). Midline catheter: Removing. CINAHL Nursing Guide. https://doi....OR Retrieved from http://Web address (use the database permalink)

In-text: (DeVesty, 2018) or (DeVesty, 2018, "Facts and Figures").


Mobile apps 

For more information about Mobile Apps, see page 340 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. 

Mobile App reference work 

Author, A.A., & Author, B. B. (year of the version). Title in italics. (edition number if needed) (Version number) [Mobile app]. Publisher of the app or name of the app store. URL if possible

Example 

Vallerand, A. H., Sanoski, C.A., & Deglin, J.H. (2020). Davis's Canadian Drug Guide (17th ed.) (Version 4.41)[Mobile app]. App Store. https://apps.apple.com/ca/app/daviss-canadian-drug-guide/id1145788777 

Entry in a mobile app reference work 

Author, A.A., & Author, B. B. OR the company that created the app. (year of the version). Title of the entry. In Name of the app in italics. (edition number if needed) (Version number) [Mobile app]. Publisher of the app or name of the App Store. URL if possible 

Vallerand, A. H., Sanoski,  C. A., & Deglin, J. H. (2019). Omeprazole.  In C. Quiring (Contributing Ed.), Davis’s Canadian Drug Guide (16th ed.). In Nursing Central (Version 4.5.2) [Mobile app]. Unbound Medicine. https://nursing.unboundmedicine.com/nursingcentral

Vallerand, A. H., Sanoski, C.A., & Deglin, J.H. (2020). Naproxen. In Davis's Canadian Drug Guide (17th ed.) (Version 4.41) [Mobile app]. App Store. https://apps.apple.com/ca/app/daviss-canadian-drug-guide/id1145788777 

In-text:

(Vallerand et al., 2020)


Drug monograph from CPS Full Access (RxTx) mobile app

Reference List

Canadian Pharmacists Association. (2016, February 19). Atacand. In CPS Full Access (Version 6.1.2.0) [Mobile app]. Google Play Store. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=vspringboard.cpha.activity&hl=en_CA

In Text, first citation

(Canadian Pharmacists Association [CPhA], 2016)

In Text, subsequent citations

(CPhA, 2016)


Elsevier Clinical Skills (Previously Mosby's Nursing Skills)

Bathing: Bed bath (pediatric). (2016, January). Elsevier clinical skills. URL

Urinary catheter: Indwelling (Foley) catheter care. (2015, January). Elsevier clinical skills. URL

In-text:

(Bathing, 2016)

(Urinary catheter, 2015)


Drug Monograph from CPS Full Access

Canadian Pharmacists Association. (2016, February 19). Atacand. CPS Full Access. https://www.myrxtx.ca

In-text:

  • First citation
    (Canadian Pharmacists Association [CPhA], 2016)
  • Subsequent citations
    (CPhA, 2016)

Blog post:

Laden, G. (2011, May 8). A history of childbirth and misconceptions about life expectancy.  http://scienceblogs.com/gregladen/2011/05/a_history_of_childbirth_and_mi.php

In-text: (Laden, 2011)


Videos

Producer, P. P. (Producer), & Director, D. D. (Director). (Year of release). Title of film in sentence case and italics [Format]. http://website.com

In-text: Cite last name of producer(s) and/or director(s) and year in brackets:

Retrieved from Netflix

Finerman, W. (Producer), & Frankel, D. (Director). (2006). The devil wears Prada [Video]. Netflix. http://www.netflix.com/

Retrieved from Library Database

Lester, R. (Director). (1964). A hard day’s night [Video]. Kanopy. http://www.kanopystreaming.com

In-text: (Lester, 1964)

DVD

DiCaprio, L. (Producer), & Petersen, L. C. (Writer/Director). (2008). The 11th hour [Film]. Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Entertainment.

In-text: (DiCaprio, 2008) 


Web Page on a Website:

Author. (date). Title. Retrieved from URL

National Geographic Society. (n.d.). Flying fish. http://animals.nationalgeographic.com/animals/fish/flying-fish/#

In-text: (Author, year)

(National Geographic Society, n.d.)


Image taken from a website:

Artist Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Title of the artwork [Format]. URL (address of web site)

Baumel, A.  (2010). Cholera treatment center in Haiti [Photograph]. https://www.doctorswithoutborders.org

No author: 

Reference List

Caduceus simple [Digital image]. (2014, February 22). Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Caduceus_simple.svg

In Text

(Caduceus simple, 2014)

No author, no title, and no date:

 [Subject and type of work]. URL (address of web site)

Many images found on the Web fall under this category. Try to locate the missing information by clicking on the image, and/or looking at the bottom of the image.

Appendices

See section 2.14 of the APA Manual (7th ed.) for more information

  • Appendices include supplementary content that does not belong in the main text. Examples include lists of words, a questionnaire or survey used in the research, a detailed description of an apparatus used, a floor plan, learning outcomes, etc. 
  • Appendix labels and titles should be centred and bolded. 
  • Each appendix is referenced parenthetically in-text.
  • An appendix or appendices are always the last section of a paper. 
  • Appendices should appear in the order information is mentioned in a paper. Refer to an appendix by its label. 
  • Each appendix appears on a new page. 
  • If more than one Appendix, label as Appendix A, Appendix B, etc. A single Appendix would simply be, Appendix. 

Get Help Now!

Contact an OC Librarian

By E-Mail By Phone  In Person Contact a librarian online Research Help

 

Chat with a Librarian

Chat online with a librarian and find answers to your questions.

AskAway

Regular hours:

Monday - Thursday 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m - 5 p.m.
Saturday 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. 
Sunday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.