Knowing the NAICS code for the industry you are researching in can make your life a bit easier.
NAICIS stands for North American Industry Classification System.
NAICS Canada is Statistics Canada's primary classifications for industries and is widely used throughout business programs at Statistics Canada, in academia, and in business.
For example, as illustrated below, Tire dealer's NAICS code is 44134, and in NAICS, it falls under retail trade.
NAICS Canada 2022 version 1.0
44-45 - Retail trade
441 - Motor vehicle and parts dealer
4413 - Automotive parts, accessories, and tire dealers 44134 - Tire dealers 441340 - Tire dealers
The Canadian industry comprises establishments primarily engaged in tires and tubes. These establishment also typically provide complementary services, such as tire mounting and wheel balancing and aligning.
Collection of industry research reports and related information. Includes Canadian industry reports (NAICS) and industry iExpert summaries. Includes US industry reports (NAICS), industry iExpert summaries, specialised industry reports, and specialized industry iExpert summaries.
Includes citations and abstracts for more than 4,000 scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers. This database will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity. To avoid losing your research, please save your results within that time period. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.
In some cases, certain publishers do not grant certain rights specific to their content. Check content for any restrictions.
License definitions & additional information
COURSEPACKS / ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING. Members and Authorized Users may incorporate a reasonable portion of the Licensed Material in course packs, study packs, resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication) so long as a "hit" is registered on Licensor's on-line platform each time an article is accessed for the CoursePack. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose. Course packs in non-electronic non-print perceptible form, such as Braille, may also be offered to Authorized Users.
CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS to individual articles for access by Authorized Users for Permitted Uses under this Agreement, from within secure authentication environments provided that the product(s) support the ability of such persistent link technology. ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING. Members and Authorized Users may incorporate a reasonable portion of the Licensed Material in course packs, study packs, resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication) so long as a "hit" is registered on Licensor's on-line platform each time an article is accessed for the CoursePack. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner. Copies of such items shall be deleted by the Member when they are no longer used for such purpose.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN by paper or electronic means, a single copy of an individual document within the guidelines of traditional interlibrary loan practices and applicable copyright laws provided that the loan is not done in a manner or magnitude that would replace the recipient library's own subscription to either the Products or the purchase of the underlying Work (e.g., newspaper, magazine, or book).
With a team of over 450 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.
A comprehensive Canadian database covering current events, policy, business, social issues, science, the arts, and Canadian academic information. Provides full text, back to 1985. Approx. 2/3 titles included are published in Canada, making a good starting point for Canadian research.
Search Tips!
Check "Scholarly Journals" to eliminate popular magazines and newspapers from your search
Wildcards: Use * (asterisk) for truncation and ? (question mark) to replace a single character.
Click "Access OC" to locate articles that do not indicate full text availability.
Industry report examples
Reports from databases
OC library A-Z databases can be filtered to business to show the list of business databases. The list can again be filtered to trade publications, statistics and other types. A few examples of what you can find in these databases.
Smith, WS, Coleman, S, Bacardit, J, Coxon, S. Insight from data analytics with an automotive aftermarket SME. Qual Reliab Engng Int. 2019; 35: 1396– 1407. https://doi.org/10.1002/qre.2529
Article referenced data sets used in analysis.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.
