Academic Integrity & Citation (APA style) - DSCI 321 - Health Analytics Library Research Guide

Academic Integrity and APA Citation

The OC Academic Integrity Policy governs student and faculty academic conduct.

Read and review the Academic Integrity policy.

Pay close attention to Section 6, Academic Violations.

Subsection (a) Plagiarism (i) submits or presents work of another person or from artificial intelligence, in whole or part, as that of the Student's own work;

Therefore, using Artificial Intelligence to generate content and cut and paste it directly from the Artificial Intelligence application into your assignment or research paper is considered an academic violation.

You need to paraphrase the content and properly cite the source of that information.

Subsection(b) Cheating (iv) unless permitted by the Instructor/Tutor, a Student using artificial intelligence tools for coursework submitted for evaluation".

Therefore, using Artificial Intelligence in your coursework is considered cheating unless authorized by your instructor.

What are the repercussions?

If you are alleged to have violated the OC Academic Integrity policy, you can be held accountable for your actions under the Procedures for Academic Integrity Misconduct.

As you are aware, your course syllabi makes abundantly clear:

"In this course, students may not use Generative Artificial Intelligence (GenAI) tools for any part of their assessments. This means you are not allowed to use GenAI tools (e.g., ChatGPT, Copilot, Grammarly) to generate content, suggest improvements, or assist in any way with your academic work. Grammar and spelling checks are allowed, but paraphrasing, rephrasing and translation tools are not. All submissions must be entirely your own work, created without the aid of GenAI technology. Data in this course is considered proprietary. As a result, any violation of this policy will result in expulsion from your program and potentially criminal prosecution. The student must understand what is and what is not allowed for GenAI in this course. If you have any doubts consult your instructor."

About Plagiarism

Plagiarism is in violation of the Academic Integrity policy. Learn more about academic integrity and plagiarism by taking the new Moodle Student Academic Integrity course.

See the OC Calendar 'General academic regulations and policies on plagiarism. "Plagiarism is the presentation of another person's work or ideas without proper or complete acknowledgement" (Okanagan College [OC], 2013, Calendar).

Examples of plagiarism:

Copying phrases, sentences, pictures, statistics, graphs, videos or other information without citing the source
Failing to use quotation marks to indicate copied information
Summarizing or paraphrasing ideas or information without citing the original source
Listing a source on the References page but failing to refer to the publication within the body of the assignment.

"Students are responsible for learning and applying the proper scholarly practices for acknowledging the work and ideas of others". (OC, 2013, Calendar): This student responsibility applies in all formats (print, online and others).

Paraphrasing is the practice of restating another author's thoughts in one's own words - this is how you protect yourself from being accused of plagiarization.

Paraphrasing is a method that helps you to accurately share someone else's ideas without simply repeating their words verbatim. From a technical perspective, paraphrases typically exhibit a significant equivalence of meaning across a given text length. A paraphrase is a sentence or phrase that conveys the same meaning as another sentence or phrase using a different set of words.

Paraphrasing always requires that you cite the original source

Paraphrasing Versus Quoting
This short video explores the differences between quoting and paraphrasing and teaches when to use them to the best effect.
More about this database...less...
Paraphrasing Versus Quoting. . (2023).[Video/DVD] Makematic. https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/paraphrasing-versus-quoting
OC Success Centre
Success Centres are located on all Okanagan College campuses. Staff provide comprehensive learning assistance to individuals and small groups of students. Success Centre Coordinators support students in developing the skills needed to complete their program and become lifelong learners. Help is available in English language, reading and writing, as well as math, science, and trades. Success Centre Coordinators are available to help you in person at all campuses and also online.

Successful Grant Writing: Strategies for Health and Human Service Professionals by Laura N. Gitlin; Kevin J. Lyons
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780826100900
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book is easy to read and understand. It is a great resource for individuals wishing to write grants. I have not seen another book that is this comprehensive and user-friendly." Score: 92, 4 Stars.--Michalene A. King, PhD, RN, CNE in Doody's Medical Reviews This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, secondary analyses, translational research, and comparative effectiveness studies. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-wise process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing Includes chapter opener objectives Expands section on post-award requirements Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions including software such as RefWorks and google alerts Enlarges appendices to include charts, graphics, grant application samples and Aims page samples full of errors with answers provided

APA Citation Information.

Laura N. Gitlin, P., & Kevin J. Lyons, P. (2014). Successful Grant Writing : Strategies for Health and Human Service Professionals. Springer Publishing Company.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association( 7th ed.)

Consult the print version of the APA style manual in your campus library's Reference Collection for more in-depth information:
BF 76.7 .P83 2020

OC Library's APA Citation Style Resources

Interactive APA Libguide
APA Citation Style PDF Guide & Handout

APA Style Examples from APA

Comprehensive list of online examples from APA

APA Student Paper Checklist (7th ed.)
Sample APA Student paper (7th ed.)

The APA manual is the official style guides published by the American Psychological Association. Copies of the manual are available in the Library and the Bookstore. APA is the reference system for psychology, business, and health disciplines.

In-text Citation (Generic Example)

(Author(s), date)

Reference List Citation (Generic Example)

Surname, first initial. (date). Title. Source Title. Publication specific details.

OC Library APA Style Guide

Short guide to APA citation
Common examples & basic citation rules
Follows 2020 APA Publication Manual, 7th ed.
PDF version

The fair dealing provisions contained in the Canadian Copyright Act permit the use of a copyright-protected work without permission from the copyright owner or the payment of copyright royalties.

OCtopus content, Research Databases A-Z, E-Journals, eTextbooks, and Course Resources List contain licensed content, most of which is copyrighted protected material. The OC Copyright Fair Dealing Policy is based on the concept of "Fair Dealing." Fair Dealing is a user's right in copyright law that permits using or "dealing" with a copyright-protected work without permission or paying copyright royalties (fees).

The fair dealing exception in the Copyright Act allows you to use other people’s copyright-protected material for the purpose of research, private study, education, satire, parody, criticism, review or news reporting, provided that what you do with the work is ‘fair.’

The OC Copyright Fair Dealing Policy identifies how much of a copyrighted work can be used (copy) for education, research and private study purposes.

Note: if your use is for criticism, review or news reporting, you must also mention the source and author of the work for it to be fair dealing.

For further information, see Copyright - Fair Dealing Policy.

Warning

You should not upload any content you obtain through the library to an Artificial Intelligence tool. The library signs contracts with different vendors and publishers, which set out specific terms and conditions that users are responsible for complying with when accessing content. While what is permitted is not uniform across all resources, most agreements do not allow for the uploading of copyright-protected works to third-party platforms, including genAI tools.

A DOI is a unique number made up of a prefix and a suffix separated by a forward slash. This is an example of one: `10.1000/182`. It is resolvable using our proxy server by displaying it as a link: https://doi.org/10.1000/182. They can be located in the article itself or in the OCtopus Detailed record.

DSCI 321 - Health Analytics Library Research Guide