Group Communication by
Group Communication introduces applications of small group dynamics. Hartley shows how an understanding of how groups work and interact can improve the chances of successful team communication and cooperation. Group Communication includes: * critical reviews of group research * explanation of the difficulties and practicalities of observing groups * analysis of major group processes, including conformity and decision-making * analysis and case studies of the management team, student seminar/project groups and self-help groups * practical recommendation for group communication * references and suggestions for further reading and research.
Group Communication Pitfalls by
"They have done this with a rich, provocative, and creative conceptual vocabulary that will resonate for readers who practice, supervise others′ practice, teach about or do research in group life and group work."--Paul H. Ephross, MSW, PhD, Professor, University of Maryland School of Social Work Group Communication Pitfalls: Overcoming Barriers to an Effective Group Experience treats groups and the work involved in grouping as useful tools humans have developed for responding to pressures or demands faced by group members. This book assumes an orientation that expects and detects group pitfalls as they arise, providing students with the foundation for overcoming barriers to effective group experiences. By assuming this orientation, authors John O. Burtis and Paul D. Turman offer readers a map of the group pitfall terrain and demonstrate how people working well together can use the struggle against such pitfalls to improve their groups. Key Features Provides students with a unifying theoretical framework and pedagogical orientation, which organizes a very broad range of research findings into tight and useful classifications Takes a comprehensive approach that frames current small group communication literature through a theoretical lens provided by Breakdown-Conducive Group Theory Reviews research findings from a variety of methodological perspectives and directly describes applications of the concepts discussed across each chapter Offers extensive skills enhancing material to help students apply the theoretically based concepts discussed in the book While other texts cover cursory material on group pitfalls and miscommunication, it is the primary focus of this text and gives students practical recommendations to correct those pitfalls. Group Communication Pitfalls is an excellent textbook for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses on small group communication such as Advanced Group Communication, Group Dynamics, and Group Processes. It can also be used as a supplemental text in courses that focus on group interaction.
Interpersonal Communication by
Interpersonal communication has been studied in terms of both communication functions and specialized contexts. This handbook comprehensively covers the field including research on processes of social influence, the role of communication in the development, maintenance and decline of close personal relationships, nonverbal communication, cognitive approaches, communication and conflict, bargaining and negotiation, health communication, organizational socialization and supervisor-subordinate communication, social networks, and technologically-mediated interpersonal communication. Two chapters are dedicated to research methods in the field. The handbook includes chapters by widely recognized and respected scholars in the field.
Leading A Group: A Practical and Comprehensive Handbook by 
Mediated Interpersonal Communication by
Mediated interpersonal communication is one of the most dynamic areas in communication studies, reflecting how individuals utilize technology more and more often in their personal interactions. Organizations also rely increasingly on mediated interaction for their communications. Responding to this evolution in communication, this collection explores how existing and new personal communication technologies facilitate and change interpersonal interactions. Chapters offer in-depth examinations of mediated interpersonal communication in various contexts and applications. Contributions come from well-known scholars based around the world, reflecting the strong international interest and work in the area.
Studies in Applied Interpersonal Communication by
Studies in Applied Interpersonal Communication offers solutions for communication problems that erupt in our daily lives. By focusing on socially meaningful applied research in communication, this book offers a new direction for interpersonal communication studies. Featuring original studies that are practical and relevant, chapters provide readers with a balanced combination of rigorous research with pragmatic application. This book will generate enthusiasm among students and scholars and inspire future research that moves beyond the theoretical and toward the practical. Key Features and Benefits Includes solid research by a distinguished group of communication scholars Clarifies the connections between research results and prescriptive application Reveals the importance of conducting research targeting the communication concerns of the general public Provides practical advice that is meaningful to everyday lives and encourages future research that can benefit society Intended Audience This provocative book is an ideal supplement for graduate or advanced undergraduate courses such as Interpersonal Communication, Relational Communication, Empirical Research Methods, and Applied Communication.
Team Communications by
This booklet will appeal to both newcomers and veterans. And the knowledge can be applied to any type of team OCo including on-site teams, new and existing teams and cross-functional teams.One of the first things to go on a team is communication. When members fail to communicate with each other and the team fails to communicate with stakeholders, youOCOve got problems. Learn how to identify the sources of communication breakdown, admit there is a problem, send effective messages, be an active listener, get good communication going by asking questions, set ground rules for effective communication and more."
|
|
Parenthetical |
Narrative |
|
Direct Quote, single page |
For e-marketers, this case study "can prove of significant added value" (Manouselis, 2008, p. 44). |
Manouselis (2008) believes his case study "can prove of significant added value" (p. 44) for e-marketers. |
|
Direct Quote, multiple pages |
E-market operators should evaluate conditions "close to the actual e-market ones... before they deploy them online" (Manouselis, 2008, pp. 44-45). |
Manouselis (2008) suggests that e-market operators evaluate conditions "close to the actual e-market ones... before they deploy them online" (pp. 44-45). |
|
Direct Quote, no page numbers |
If your source has no page numbers, "count paragraphs down from the beginning of the document" (Lee, 2015, para. 5). |
If your source has no page numbers, Lee (2015) says to "count paragraphs down from the beginning of the document" (para. 5). |
|
Paraphrased |
Librarians at community colleges teach library skills including research and citations, in collaboration with faculty, to diverse groups of students (Contrada, 2019). |
Contrada (2019) notes that librarians at community colleges teach library skills including research and citations, in collaboration with faculty, to diverse groups of students. |
|
Multiple Authors: 2 |
The study concluded that "existing methods have approached the difficult problem of metacognition in innovative and creative ways" (Crystal & Foote, 2009, p. 14). |
Crystal and Foote (2009) conclude that "existing methods have approached the difficult problem of metacognition in innovative and creative ways" (p. 14). |
|
Multiple Authors: 3 or more |
One such study gathered data on the number of citations for all journal articles published in the Canadian Association of Radiologists Journal (CARJ) over a 13 year period beginning in January, 2000 (Alabousi et al., 2019). |
The study done by Alabousi et al. (2019) gathered data on the number of citations for all journal articles published in the Canadian Association of Radiologists Journal (CARJ) over a 13 year period beginning in January, 2000. |
|
Corporate Author |
Okanagan College began as B.C. Vocational School - Kelowna, opened in 1963 by Premier W.A.C. Bennett (Okanagan College, 2020). |
Okanagan College (2020) has over 1200 employees. |
|
Company or Group Author, long name |
First citation: (American Psychological Association [APA], 2020). Subsequent citations: (APA, 2020). |
The American Psychological Association (APA, 2020) has specific guidelines for students in the Publication Manual. It includes reference examples for classroom and intranet sources; and, also covers title pages, annotated bibliographies, and theses (APA, 2020). |
|
More than one source in the citation |
(Crystal & Foote, 2009; Cummings et al., 2000; Manouselis, 2008). Arrange alphabetically in the citation. |
According to Crystal and Foote (2009), Cummings et al. (2000), and Manouselis (2008), citations in-text are used to show where you have used a source. |
|
No author |
If there is no author, use the first few words of the title ("Citing for Business," 2013). Use quotation marks for an article title and italics for a book title (Citing for Business, 2013). |
According to "Citing for Business" (2013), use title case for in-text citations, even though they are capitalized using sentence case in the reference list. |
|
No date |
Librarians can help with research and citations (Willson, n.d.). |
As Willson (n.d.) explains, librarians can help with research and with citation. |
|
Secondary source (indirect source) |
Experimental research (Smith, 1998, as cited in Rasmusson & Friedman, 2002) has shown… Do not include Smith (1998) in the reference list. Include Rasmusson & Friedman (2002). Whenever possible, try to find the original source rather than using a secondary source. |
In Smith’s 1998 study (as cited in Rasmusson & Friedman, 2002)… |
|
Personal communications (letters, phone calls, interviews, e-mail messages, etc.) Do not include personal communications in the reference list. Cite them in text only. |
According to the department chair (L. Coates, personal communication, December 16, 2019)... |
L. Coates (personal communication, December 16, 2019) stated that... |
Interviews
Cite published interviews by the format of the reference type (magazine, podcast, YouTube video, etc.).
Cite personal interviews, those you have conducted yourself, as personal communications.
See 8.7 Interviews (APA, 2020, p. 259).
For more information see APA Style In-Text Citations
| Type | Example |
| Report: by individual authors at an organization |
Marqui, S., Butler, M., Jospeh, R., & Ney, K. (2000). Diabetes in British Columbia synthesis report. British Columbia Ministry of Healthy Living and Sport. https://www.health.gov.bc.ca/library/publications/year/2000/diabetes_synthesis.pdf |
| By a government agency or other organization |
Public Health Agency of Canada. (2015, November). Foodbook report. https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/publications/food-nutrition/foodbook-report.html |
| Journal article, no page numbers, no issue, DOI |
Auer, M. M., & Griffiths, M. D. (2015). Testing normative and self-appraisal feedback in an online slot-machine pop-up in a real-world setting. Frontiers in Psychology, 6. https://doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2015.00339 |
| Journal article, one author, DOI |
Febbraro, A. R. (2020). Critical feminist history of psychology versus sociology of scientific knowledge: Contrasting views of women scientists? Journal of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology, 40(1), 7–20. https://doi.org/10.1037/teo0000133 |
| Web Pages |
Price, D. (2018, March 23). Laziness does not exist. Medium. https://humanparts.medium.com/laziness-does-not-exist-3af27e312d01 |
| Podcast |
Evans, R., & Collerius, F. (Hosts). (2020, February 27). February book club (No. 158) [Audio podcast episode]. In The librarian is in. NYPL. https://www.nypl.org/blog/2020/02/27/librarian-podcast-ep-158 |
| Newspaper article |
Richard, J. (2020, February 16). Happily never after - the truth of fairy tale romances. The Vancouver Sun. https://vancouversun.com/life/relationships/0216-lifenational/wcm/c8361a03-9b5f-416e-a3f2-0607c6d62116/ |
Any image, chart, map, drawing, picture, etc., other than a table, is referred to as a "figure" by APA (APA, 2020 p. 225).
Basic components of a figure are: a number, title, the image, a legend (if needed), and a note (this is where you cite the figure if reproduced/adapted from another source) (APA, 2020, p.226-229).
The table or figure number and title are located above the figure. See examples on APA Style.
Note template:
Note. Explanation about table or figure. From Title of Work, by author, date, publication information if applicable (http://...). Date of Copyright by Copyright Holder.
Tables and figures can be placed on separate pages after the reference list or in the text after the first time the figure is mentioned (APA, 2020, p. 198). Follow your instructor's assignment guidelines for where to place tables and figures.
See 7.6 Placement of Tables and Figures, and 7.7 Reprinting or Adapting Tables and Figures (APA, 2020, p. 198-199).
Tables and figures must be mentioned in the text and have a full entry for the work from which it is adapted or reprinted, in the reference list (APA, 2020, p. 197-198). Indicate if the table or figure is adapted, with Adapted from before the citation (APA, 2020, p. 218).
From multiple sources:
You will need to cite all the sources where you got the information.
Example:
Note. Graph of sales of apparel and footwear in Canada and the United States by retail value 2011-2014. Data for US from Euromonitor (2014), and for Canada from Statistics Canada (2013).
Reprinted and/or adapted tables or figures must have a copyright attribution or figure note with the source of the table or figure, and, a reference list entry for that work (APA, 2020, p. 198). The reference list entry should follow the formatting rules for whatever the source is, whether it is a book, article or other.
Statistics Canada. (2017). Kelowna [Census metropolitan area], British Columbia and British Columbia [province] (Catalogue number 98-316-X2016001). https://bit.ly/KelownaCensusProfile
For information on how to cite data sets see APA Style: Data Set References.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.