WET Hydrology & Hydrogeology

This book includes diverse perspectives on the water scarcity problem for global communities. The agriculture sector is one of the most affected sectors in the world. The authors in this book explore the adaptation techniques used by agriculture farmers to mitigate the water crisis and increase food production. This book aims to depict the main global problems and challenges that have a negative impact on water insecurity, human health, and food security, with the underlying objective of highlighting the need for reinforcing its full application in all contexts and countries.

How is water scarcity becoming a serious problem worldwide--including in the United States? This book provides a broad overview of water, sanitation, and hygiene problems faced by both developing and developed nations around the globe and suggests how these problems can be solved by imaginative and innovative thinking. Human society depends on sufficient clean water. In many parts of the world, however, this most basic commodity is in very short supply. Even in developed, first-world nations, climate change and other factors have begun to create alarming water supply issues. The Global Water Crisis: A Reference Handbook provides a detailed overview of this important topic, enabling readers to understand the nature of the world's water, sanitation, and hygiene (WASH) problems and to know what resources are best for conducting their own research on the topic. The first chapter of the book provides the historical background information pertaining to the world's water and sanitation problems; the second chapter documents the problems, explores the issues, and presents potential solutions for understanding the nature of WASH issues. The other sections provide the needed resources for readers to study the issue of the global water crisis further: perspective essays, primary documents, biographical profiles, data and documents, an extended annotated bibliography, a chronology, and a glossary.

Water Scarcity, Contamination, and Management presents new and updated material, including case studies, step-by-step guidance on key procedures and protocols, and timely topics such as climate change and integrated water resource management. This book is divided into three key sections. Section 1--Water Resource Scarcity--focuses on sustainable development and management of water resources and techniques and methods for improving water use efficiency. Section 2--Contamination of Water Resources--focuses on understanding the quality of water resources, migration of pollutant sources, geochemical processes, groundwater depletion, and seasonal variations in contaminant concentration, water resources' quality status, and associated human health risks. Section 3--Water Resource Management--considers a consolidated and coordinated approach to find the solution to water resource issues.Presenting a comprehensive overview of the water management field, the book serves as a valuable reference for students, professors, scholars, researchers, and consultants in the fields of water resources, civil engineering, environmental science and engineering, and hydrology.- Provides an overview of the current status of water resources utilization, the likely scenario of future demands, and the advantages and disadvantages of systems techniques- Includes numerous examples and real-world case studies- Presents the roles of remote sensing and GIS in solving the water resource crisis

As the sustainability of our natural resources is increasingly questioned, Canadians remain stubbornly convinced of the unassailability of our water. Mounting evidence suggests, however, that Canadian water is under threat. Eau Canada assembles the country's top water experts to discuss our most pressing water issues. Perspectives from a broad range of thinkers - geographers, environmental lawyers, former government officials, aquatic and political scientists, and economists - reflect the diversity of concerns in water management. Arguing that weak governance is at the heart of Canada's water problems, this timely book identifies our key failings, explores debates over jurisdiction, transboundary waters, exports, and privatization, and maps out solutions for protecting our most important resource.