Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide

Article Citation Overview

  • Include the page number of the citation in the notes, and the full page range in the bibliography
  • Use a DOI (digital object identifier) as the preferred link to the article. If a DOI is unavailable, use the URL (uniform resource locator)
  • Titles of journals should be italicized if referred to in the text. Example: Journal of the Institute for the Humanities
  • If the article has eleven or more authors, list only the first author in the note, followed by et.al. In the bibliography, list the first seven, followed by et.al

For information about when to use a full note or a shortened note and what to include in your bibliography, please refer to the overview section in this guide about the Notes & Bibliography System. 

We have provided some examples below, and you can find more examples in the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) Online Quick Guide or the full section of the chapter for journal articles.

Journal article (1-3 authors)

For one to three authors, list all names in the notes and bibliography.

Note

1. Simpson, Leanne Betasamosake, Rinaldo Walcott, and Glen Coulthard. "Idle no More and Black Lives Matter: An

Exchange (Panel Discussion)." Studies in Social Justice 12, no. 1 (2018): 76. https://doi.org/10.26522/ssj.v12i1.1830

Shortened note 

1. Simpson, Walcott, and Coulthard, "Idle no More," 76.

Bibliography 

Simpson, Leanne Betasamosake, Rinaldo Walcott, and Glen Coulthard. "Idle no More and Black Lives Matter: An Exchange (Panel Discussion)." Studies in Social Justice 12, no. 1 (2018): 75-89. https://doi.org/10.26522/ssj.v12i1.1830

Journal article (4-10 authors)

If the article has four to ten authors, list only the first author in the note, followed by et.al. In the bibliography, list up to ten authors.

Note

2. Louis Hoffman et al. "An Existential-Humanistic Perspective," Journal of Humanistic Psychology 56, no. 6

(2016): 600, https://doi-org.ezproxy.library.ubc.ca/10.1177/0022167816652273

Shortened note

2. Hoffman et al. "An Existential-Humanistic Perspective," 600.

Bibliography

Hoffman, Louis, Nathaniel Granger, Jr., Lisa Vallejos, and Michael Moats. "An Existential-Humanistic Perspective on Black Lives Matter and Contemporary Protest Movements." Journal of Humanistic Psychology 56, no. 6 (2016): 595-611. https://doi-org.ezproxy.library.ubc.ca/10.1177/0022167816652273.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.